Related Topics:

Medical & Health Field Jobs

The Iowa Board of Massage Therapy evaluates the qualifications of applicants for licensure and grants licenses to those who qualify.

The board establishes rules and regulations to ensure the integrity and competence of licensed massage therapists and investigates complaints for unprofessional conduct. The board is the link between the consumer and the licensed massage therapist and, as such, promotes the public health, welfare and safety.

Licensees are responsible for meeting all licensure requirements and should review the rules carefully and frequently. You may review the rules for the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy at the rules and laws page.

Back to top


Click here to access the online services site.

Application Requirements 

  • Submit an application online and pay the application fee.
  • Education: Official transcripts conferring a degree in massage therapy must be sent directly from the massage school to the board.
    • Applicants must complete a minimum of 600 hours.
    • Applicants from schools with less than 600 hours or from schools that have been sanctioned by a national association or governmental body will require review by the board prior to issuance of a license.
  • Examination: Official examination results, including scores, from the the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) or the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Examination (NCBTMB).

Note: Exam scores must be sent directly from the exam service to the board. The applicant is responsible for contacting the examining body to request the scores be sent to the board.

  • Licensure in Another State if applicable: Applicants that have previously been licensed, registered or certified in another state must provide official verification of licensure for all states in which the applicant has received a license.
    • The license verification must include the following: 
      • Issue date
      • Expiration date
      • Status of license including a reference to any pending or past disciplinary action.

The verification may be printed from another state licensing board’s website if it contains all of the information noted above. If an online verification is not available, the verification must be sent directly from the licensing board(s) to the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy.

Documentation Required for Licensure

Documentation may be submitted electronically to the board office as follows:


Back to top

Massage Therapy School Curriculum

Massage therapy schools seeking curriculum approval shall submit the application and fees in accordance with Iowa Administrative Code 645--132.2(3).

If approved, the curriculum is valid for up to two years.  Curriculum approval expires on June 30 of each even-numbered year.  Massage therapy schools must apply for renewal of the curriculum approval to maintain acceptance by the board.  The renewal cycle begins July 1 of even-numbered years and ends two years later on June 30.

Back to top


Licensees may renew your license 60 days before the current expiration date.  Multiple renewal notifications will be sent if the license has not yet been renewed. Licensees are encouraged to renew early to avoid a late fee or lapse in licensure.

All continuing education requirements must be completed prior to submitting your application for renewal.

Continuing Education

Licensees are responsible for meeting all continuing education requirements and should review the rules carefully and frequently. Review the rules for detailed information about continuing education definitions, requirements, standards, criteria and other important specific to this profession.

Back to top

Laws & Rules

Laws. Laws are enacted by the Iowa Legislature and provide statutory authority to the licensing boards.  Current law is found in the Iowa Code.

Administrative Rules

The licensing boards adopt rules to interpret and implement the authority granted in Iowa Code. Administrative rules have the same force and effect of law.

Iowa Code & Administrative Rules for Licensing Boards

Iowa Practitioner Program

The Iowa Practitioner Program (IPP) is available to licensees across multiple licensing boards in Iowa. The Iowa Practitioner Review Committee (IPRC) reviews self-reports made by licensees to determine eligibility for participation. 

Back to top

AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association)
820 Davis Street, Suite 100
Evanston, IL 60201-4444
Tel: (847) 864-0123

NCBTMB (National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork)
8201 Greensboro Drive, Suite 300
McLean, VA 22102
Tel: (800) 296-0664

ASI (Assessment Systems, Inc.)
Suite 300
Three Bala Plaza West
Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004-3481
Tel: (610) 617-9300

ABMP (Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals)
1271 Sugarbush Drive
Evergreen, CO 80439
Tel: (800) 458-2267

Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards
7111 W 151st S., Suite 356
Overland Park, KS 66223
Tel: (913) 681-0380
Fax: (913) 681-0391
Toll free: (888) 70-FSMTB

Back to top