Related Topics:

Medical & Health Field Jobs

Click here to access the online services site.

The Iowa Board of Respiratory Care  evaluates the qualifications of applicants for licensure and grants licenses to those who qualify.

The board establishes rules and regulations to ensure the integrity and competence of licensed respiratory care practitioner and investigates complaints for unprofessional conduct. The board is the link between the consumer and the licensed massage therapist and, as such, promotes the public health, welfare and safety.

Licensees are responsible for meeting all licensure requirements and should review the rules carefully and frequently. You may review the rules for the Iowa Board of Respiratory Care & Polysomnography at the rules and laws page.

  • Complete application and payment of the $75 fee (includes cost of the FBI and DCI background check) .

Examination: Applicant must provide proof of achieving the Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) or Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) certification by the NBRC. Proof of CRT or RRT Certification can be one of the following:

  1. Exam scores sent directly from the NBRC
  2. Notarized copy of a certificate showing proof of achievement of the CRT or RRT credential awarded by the NBRC
  3. A notarized score report showing proof of successful completion of the Therapist Multiple Choice Exam, State Clinical Exam, or Certified Respiratory Therapist Exam

Background Check Requirement: Applicant will receive a packet from the Board office in the mail. The packet will be sent after an applicant submits an online licensing application and pays fee. The packet includes two items that must be returned to the Board office before the license can be issued:

  1. Fingerprint card. Take the fingerprint card to a local law enforcement agency for completion. Submit the completed fingerprint card to the Board office. 
  2. Background check waiver form. Read and sign the waiver form. Return it with the completed fingerprint card.
  • Licensure in Another State if applicable: Applicants that have previously been licensed, registered or certified in another state must provide official verification of licensure for all states in which the applicant has received a license.
    • The license verification must include the following: 
      • Issue date
      • Expiration date
      • Status of license including a reference to any pending or past disciplinary action.

The verification may be printed from another state licensing board’s website if it contains all of the information noted above. If an online verification is not available, the verification must be sent directly from the licensing board(s) to the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy.

Documentation Required for Licensure

Documentation may be submitted electronically to the board office as follows:


Fax: 515-281-7969

Back to top


Licensees may renew your license 60 days before the current expiration date.  Multiple renewal notifications will be sent if the license has not yet been renewed. Licensees are encouraged to renew early to avoid a late fee or lapse in licensure.

All continuing education requirements must be completed prior to submitting your application for renewal.

Iowa Practitioner Program

The Iowa Practitioner Program (IPP) is available to licensees across multiple licensing boards in Iowa. The Iowa Practitioner Review Committee (IPRC) reviews self-reports made by licensees to determine eligibility for participation. 

Back to top

National Board of Respiratory Care

18000 W. 105th St.
Olathe, KS 66061-7543
Tel: (913) 895-4900
Fax: (913) 895-4650


Back to top