Related Topics:

Other Professional Licensure
Back to top

Application Requirements 

  • Complete the online application and payment of the $120 fee. All application fees are nonrefundable.
  • Examination: Applicant must request examination service and provide proof of passing one of the exams listed below.
  1. The written portion of the RID, BEI, or the EIPA examination, OR
  2. The EIIPA prehire examination at the highest recommended level, OR
  3. An associate degree or higher from a formal interpreter training program (ITP) with a regionally-accredited college, verified with an official transcript, OR
  4. The ASLPI at the 2+ level or higher, OR
  5. The SLPI at the intermediate level or higher.

The passing score must be transmitted directly from the exam site and sent to 

  • Attach or email written practice agreement signed and dated by you and the licensed supervisor overseeing practice. Please include your name, your supervisor's names, addresses and contact information. 
  • Licensure in Another State (if applicable): Applicants that have previously been licensed, registered or certified in another state must provide official verification of licensure for all states in which the applicant has received a license.
    • The license verification must include the following: 
      • Issue date
      • Expiration date
      • Status of license including a reference to any pending or past disciplinary action.

The verification may be printed from another state licensing board’s website if it contains all of the information noted above. If an online verification is not available, the verification must be sent directly from the licensing board(s) to the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing.

Documentation Required for Licensure

Documentation may be submitted electronically to the department at or faxed to 515.281.7969.

Back to top


Licensees may renew your license 60 days before the current expiration date.  Multiple renewal notifications will be sent if the license has not yet been renewed. Licensees are encouraged to renew early to avoid a late fee or lapse in licensure.

All continuing education requirements must be completed prior to submitting your application for renewal.

Back to top

Iowa Code & Administrative Rules

Laws. Laws are contained in Iowa Code. They are enacted by the Iowa legislature.

Administrative rules. Iowa State government and licensing boards adopt rules to interpret and implement the Iowa Code. Iowa Administrative Code (IAC), also referred to as administrative rules, have the force and effect of law.

Back to top

Iowa Practitioner Program (IPP)

Overview of the Iowa Practitioner Program (IPP) available to licensees across multiple licensing boards in Iowa.

Back to top

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. (RID)
National Testing System Assistant
703.838.0030, Ext. 215
703.838.4059 (teletypewriter)

Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment
EIPA Diagnostic Center
Boys Town National Research Hospital
555 N. 30th St
Omaha, NE 68131

Deaf Services
Iowa Department of Human Rights
Lucas State Office Building, 2nd Floor
Des Moines, IA 50319
888.221.3724 (teletypewriter)

Back to top