On this page...
- Apply Online
- Fire Protection System Links
- Contractor License Requirements
- Fire Protection Responsible Managing Employee Qualification Options
- Technician License Requirements
The state of Iowa requires licensing for all fire extinguishing systems as defined in Iowa Code chapter 100C and Iowa Code chapter 100D and Iowa Administrative Rules chapter 661-275 and Iowa Administrative Rules chapter 661-276. A company installing and/or testing such systems and their employees must be licensed as fire protection system contractors and technicians.
- Fire protection licensing is not required for a company or technicians doing hood cleaning only (no maintenance or repairs).
- The state of Iowa does not regulate portable fire extinguisher inspections or testing. Please check with the local jurisdictions regarding any requirements.
Contractor License Requirements
- All contractors who intend to work in Iowa are required to obtain a contractor license.
- Contractors must list at least one responsible managing employee (RME) and provide a copy of their current qualifying certification as specified in the matrix below.
- Contractors shall obtain and maintain current registration (or obtain a written exemption) as a construction contractor in compliance with Iowa Code chapter 91C and Iowa Administrative Rules chapter 875-Chapter 150. Visit the contractor registration page for more information.
- Contractors must provide a copy of the most current certificate of liability insurance on the ACORD form. The ACORD form must show coverage amounts of $1 million per occurrence, $1 million property damage, and $500,000 per person.
Technician License Requirements
- All technicians who intend to work in Iowa are required to obtain a technician license under a licensed contractor. They must provide a copy of their current qualifying certifications as specified in the matrix below.
- All trainees who intend to work in Iowa and are not enrolled in a Department of Labor Apprenticeship program are required to obtain a technician trainee license under a licensed contractor and be supervised 100% of the time on the job site by a licensed responsible managing employee or licensed technician licensed under the scope of work authorized by the license. There must be one licensed RME or technician for every three technician trainees or apprentices.
Fee Structure for Contractor License
- $400 license fee
- $50 for each endorsement
- $50 for each responsible managing employee (RME)
Fee Structure for Technician License
- $175 license fee
- $25 for each endorsement
Fee Structure for Technician Trainee License
- $100 license fee
Payments can be made online by debit/credit card or eCheck/ACH or by mailing a check or money order payable to the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing or State of Iowa and mailed to the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing, Attention: Fire Protection Systems Licensing, 6200 Park Ave, Ste 100, Des Moines, IA 50321.
Laws & Rules
Iowa Code encompasses all permanent laws passed by the Iowa legislature and signed by the governor. Iowa Administrative Code (IAC) contains all administrative rules adopted by State agencies. When a new law is passed, administrative rules often need to be updated to implement or administer that law.Back to top