On this page...
Each wholesaler, wherever located, that engages in wholesale distribution into, out of, or within Iowa must be licensed by the Board in accordance with the laws and regulations of Iowa before engaging in wholesale distribution of prescription drugs.
An Iowa wholesale drug license expires on December 31 of each year.
Each wholesaler, regardless of location, engaged in the distribution of controlled substances in or into Iowa is required to have a Controlled Substances Act (CSA) registration.
Where operations are conducted at more than one location by a single wholesale distributor, each location must be licensed.
“Wholesale distribution” means the distribution of a drug to a person other than a consumer or patient, or the receipt of a drug by a person other than a consumer or patient, but does not include transactions identified in Iowa Code section 155A.3(53), paragraphs “a” through “s”, and DSCSA.
“Wholesale distributor” means a person, other than a manufacturer, a manufacturer’s co-licensed partner, a third-party logistics provider, or a repackager, engaged in the wholesale distribution of a prescription drug.Back to top
How to Apply
A valid credit or debit card (Visa, Mastercard, or Discover) is required for online renewal. There will be a $2.00 convenience fee charged for online renewal and payment.
The renewal certificate will be mailed within a few days of the online renewal.
Apply by Mail
- License Renewal Application (Do not submit prior to November 1)
- New License and Change Application (not to be used for facility manager changes)
- Facility Manager Change Application
- Surety Bond Form ($100,000)
- Surety Bond Form ($25,000)
Submit the completed application with any required documentation and a check or money order payable to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy for the nonrefundable fee.Back to top
- Inspection Report
- Surety Bond/Irrevocable Letter of Credit
- Home State License Verification
- Proof of VAWD accreditation
- Acknowledgement and Attestation form (completed by Facility Manager)
Wholesaler Distributor License Renewal
An Iowa wholesale distributor license expires December 31 of each year.
The fee for a new or renewal license is $750.00.
License renewal is the licensee's responsibility. As a courtesy, the board office sends a license renewal notice to each licensee at least 60 days prior to license expiration, however the option to renew will not be available more than 60 days prior to the renewal date. The renewal notice is sent via email to the licensee’s last known email address. Failure of the licensee to receive the notice does not relieve the licensee of responsibility for renewing that license prior to its expiration. A license can be renewed online or by paper application.
For more information, see 657 IAC Chapter 17.Back to top