Apply online for licensure as an assistant physical therapist in Iowa. The application fee is $120 and the background check fee is $55.

Submit Application and Pay Fee

To submit an application, create an account, apply, and pay online.

The application fee is $120. Application fees are non-refundable.

Complete Background Check

Submit a completed background check packet, which will be forwarded after an application is submitted to the board.  The background check fee ($55) is non-refundable. 

The background check requires applicants to submit the following items.  Return the completed items to the address provided below.

  1. Two fingerprint cards. Take the fingerprint cards to a local law enforcement agency for completion. 

Note: Applicants may be fingerprinted at other locations; however, the individual providing the service should be familiar with fingerprinting and determining when a set of fingerprints may be illegible.

  1. Background check waiver form. Complete and sign the waiver form.  Return the waiver with the fingerprint packets.

Iowa Board of Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy
6200 Park Ave. #100
Des Moines, IA 50321

Educational Requirement

Applicants must provide evidence of one of the following:

  • Official transcripts conferring a degree from a nationally-accredited physical therapy assistant program, sent directly to the Board office from the educational institution.

Foreign-Educated Applicants

Foreign-educated applicants must meet the requirements listed above and also submit the following documents.

  1. Board-approved evaluation of your professional curriculum from FCCPT.
  2. Submit an English translation and an equivalency evaluation of educational credentials through the following organization:
  3. Certified proof of passing IBT-TOEFL sent directly from the examination service.

Examination Requirement

Applicants must submit proof of passing the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE), sent directly to the board office by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).

Applicants Licensed in Another State

  • Licensure in Another State if applicable: Applicants that have previously been licensed, registered or certified in another state must provide official verification of licensure for all states in which the applicant has received a license.
    • The license verification must include the following: 
      • Issue date
      • Expiration date
      • Status of license including a reference to any pending or past disciplinary action.

The verification may be printed from another state licensing board’s website if it contains all of the information noted above. If an online verification is not available, the verification must be sent directly from the licensing board(s).

Applicants who have not been issued a license in another state may disregard this requirement.

Note: Applicants that have been previously licensed in another state must also provide evidence one of the following:

  1. Proof of completion of 20 hours of Iowa Board-approved continuing education courses during the two years immediately preceding the Iowa license application submission;
  2. Proof of practice as a licensed PTA for a minimum of 2,080 hours during the two years immediately preceding the Iowa license application submission (e.g. a letter from the PT’s employer); or
  3. Proof of NPTE exam passing score within two years immediately preceding the Iowa license application submission.