Apply online for a Funeral Director license in Iowa. Application fee is $120. All application fees are nonrefundable.

Forms related to application for a funeral director license are available on the Iowa Board of Mortuary Science page.

Apply Online

Create an account, apply, and pay online using the online licensing portal.

Documentation may be submitted electronically to the board office as follows:


Fax: 515.281.7969

Educational Requirement

Official academic transcripts sent directly to the board office from the educational institution verifying completion of:

  1. A program in mortuary science from a school accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education;
  2. A minimum of 60 hours at a regionally accredited college or university with a minimum of a 2.0 or a “C” grade point average. The 60 semester hours used to fulfill this requirement cannot include technical mortuary science courses; and
  3. A college course of at least one semester hour or equivalent in current Iowa law and rules covering mortuary science content areas including but not limited to Iowa law and rules governing the practice of mortuary science, cremation, vital statistics, cemeteries and preneed.

Note: Foreign-trained applicants should contact the board office for educational requirements.

Examination Requirement

Official exam scores evidencing proof of passing both the arts and sciences examination issued by the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, Inc. (ICoFSEB)

Note: Applicants licensed prior to 1980 are exempt from showing a passing grade on the national exam.

Internship Requirement

Proof of completion of an internship meeting the requirements of Iowa Administrative Code 645 Chapter 101.5(1) lasting at least one year under the direct supervision of an Iowa board certified preceptor.

Applicants that have been previously licensed in another state for more than two years are not required to provide proof of a previous internship.

Out-of-State Applicants

If the applicant is currently actively licensed in another state, the applicant must furnish evidence of one of the following:

  1. Two or more years of actual practice as a licensed funeral director in the state where the applicant is currently licensed; or
  2. Meeting requirements substantially similar to those listed in Iowa Administrative Code 645 Chapter 101.5(1)”g” and Iowa Administrative Code 645 Chapter 101.5(3).

If the applicant has a license in another state that is not currently active, the applicant must demonstrate that he/she meets the requirements of Iowa Administrative Code 645 Chapter 101.18(3).

Verification of Licensure in Other States

Applicants that have been previously licensed, registered or certified in any other state must provide official verification of licensure in the other state(s). At a minimum, the license verification must include the following:

  • Issue date
  • Expiration date
  • License status, including information about any pending or past disciplinary action.

The verification may be printed from another state licensing board’s website if it contains all of the required information. If web-based verification is not available, the verification must be sent directly to the board office by the state(s) where the applicant has been licensed, registered, or certified.

Note: This requirement only applies to those who have been issued a license in another state.