Apply online for a permanent hearing aid specialist license in Iowa. The application fee is $156. All application fees are non-refundable.

Documentation & Questions

Documentation and questions may be submitted by email:


The application fee is $156. All application fees are nonrefundable.

Examination Requirement

The applicant will need to request that the International Hearing Society (IHS) submit evidence of successfully completing the exam, including the final score to .

Note: The examination score report must be transmitted directly from IHS. 

Applicants Who Have Held a Temporary Permit

Applicants who have held a hearing aid specialist temporary permit must attach the complete temporary permit schedule for supervision form.  

The form may also be emailed to   

Applicants Licensed in Another State

If you have been issued a license in another state, attach or email verification of  all license held in other states.  The license verification must include:

  • Original issue date,
  • Expiration date; and
  • Status of the license, including any pending or past disciplinary action.  

Provide verification of one of the following:

  • A passing score on the national examination;
  • A passing score on an examination the board determines is equivalent to the national examination; or
  • Current certification from the National Board for Certification in Hearing Instrument Sciences (NBCHIS). 

Provide evidence of one of the following:

  • Proof of board certification from IHS;
  • Proof of 32 continuing education hours within the 24 months prior to application for an Iowa license; or  
  • Continuing education certificates that verify you met the minimum hours of continuing education required by the state where you are currently licensed.