DES MOINES, IA - Governor Terry Branstad and Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds have reappointed Sharon Meyer and appointed Kay Jessen to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy.

Sharon Meyer from Urbandale was reappointed to a second three-year term, effective May 1.

Kay Jessen, a registered nurse from Manson, was appointed to a three-year term, effective May 1.  The appointment has been confirmed by the Iowa Senate.  Ms. Jessen will succeed Judith Trumpy who did not seek reappointment to the Board.

The seven-member Board is responsible for regulating the practice of pharmacy and the legal distribution and dispensing of prescription drugs and precursor substances throughout Iowa. Other members of the Board, effective May 1, are James Miller of Dubuque, Edward Maier of Mapleton, LaDonna Gratias of Clive, Edward McKenna of Storm Lake, and Jason Hansel of Bettendorf.