
• Retail, food service, and gasoline service 
establishments

• Office and clerical work, including operation of 
office machines

• Cashiering, selling, modeling, artwork, advertising 
departments, window trimming, and comparative 
shopping

• Price marking and tagging, assembling orders, 
packing, and shelving

• Bagging and carrying out customers’ orders.
• Errand and delivery work by foot, bicycle, or 

public transportation
• Cleanup work, including vacuum cleaners and 

floor waxers, and maintenance of grounds
• Kitchen work and other work involved in 

preparing and serving food and beverages
• For motor vehicles and trucks: dispensing gasoline 

and oil, courtesy service, car cleaning, car 
washing, and car polishing

• Cleaning vegetables and fruits

June 1 — Labor Day 
• Summer recess 
• 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.
• Eight-hour work day 
• 30-minute break after 5 

hours worked
• 40 hours per week 

Labor Day — June 1
• School in session 
• 7 a.m. to 9 p.m.
• Six-hour shift on school days 
• Eight-hour shift on weekends
• 30-minute break after 5 

hours worked
• 28 hours per week 

Applies to all public, private and homeschool minors. 
No hour restrictions for minors over 16 years old.

Iowa youths are 
eager to work. 
Especially during 
the summer 

months. To a teenager, 
a job means money for school and 
other expenses, work experience, 
and may help in deciding on a career 
path.

As an employer, you should be 
aware that Iowa Child Labor laws 
restrict both hours and types of 
work. 
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Hiring Iowa teens:  What an employer needs to know

Time and Hour Restrictions: 14- and 15-year olds

Appropriate Tasks

• Wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing, and 
stocking goods 

• Loading and unloading from motor vehicles non-
power-driven hand tools and personal protective 
equipment that the minor will use as part of their 
employment

• Laundering
• Removal of off-type plants and corn tassels and 

hand-pollinating from June 1 through Labor Day

Tasks allowed for 15-year-olds 
• Loading and unloading non-power-driven 

equipment into motor vehicles (up to 30 pounds)
• Loading and unloading groceries and other retail 

items into motor vehicles (up to 30 pounds)
• Stocking shelves (up to 30 pounds)
• Lifeguard and swim instructor
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Tasks allowed for 14- and 15-year-olds
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Prohibited tasks for those under 16
• Manufacturing
• Mining
• Processing except when specifically allowed by 

statute
• Duties in workrooms or workplaces where goods 

are manufactured, mined, or processed
• Public messenger service
• Hoisting apparatus and power-driven machinery
• Transportation of persons or property
• Warehousing and storage
• Communications and public utilities
• Construction, including repair
• Boiler or engine rooms
• Maintenance or repair of an establishment, 

machines, or equipment
• Working from windowsills, ladders, scaffolds, or 

their substitutes
• Cooking, except at soda fountains, lunch counters, 

snack bars, or cafeteria serving counters, and 
baking

• Power-driven food slicers and grinders, food 
choppers and cutters, and bakery-type mixers

• Loading and unloading goods to and from trucks, 
railroad cars, or conveyors. 

• Warehouses, except office and clerical work

Prohibited Tasks

Federal law
Federal child labor laws are more restrictive than 
Iowa child labor laws. Employers should seek legal 
advice to determine if they are to comply with 
federal child labor laws. For more information 
on federal restrictions, visit the Wage and Hour 
Division website of the U.S. Department of Labor 
or call 1.866.487.9243.
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Prohibited tasks for all minors
• Plants or establishments that manufacture or 

store explosives or articles containing explosive 
components. 

• Logging and the operation of any sawmill, lath 
mill, shingle mill, or cooperage-stock mill

• Power-driven woodworking machines
• Radioactive substances and to ionizing radiations
• Power-driven hoisting apparatus
• Power-driven metal forming, punching, and 

shearing machines
• Mining
• Slaughtering and meat packing establishments 

and rendering plants
• Power-driven bakery machines except for pizza 

dough rollers with required safety features
• Power-driven paper products machines. See Iowa 

Code chapter 92 for the baler exception
• Manufacturing brick, tile, and related products
• Circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears
• Wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking 

operations
• Roofing
• Excavation
• Foundries, except for the office, shipping, and 

assembly areas
• Dry cleaning or dyeing machinery
• Exposure to lead fumes or its compounds, or to 

dangerous dyes and chemicals
• Transmission, distribution, or delivery of goods or 

messages 10 p.m. to 5 a.m.
• Nude or topless dancing establishmentsMore information on child labor laws

This is a summary of the child labor laws in Iowa. For 
further details on tasks allowed, tasks prohibited, and 
exemptions see Iowa Code chapter 92.

Minors serving alcohol
Minors aged 16 and 17 may serve alcohol if certain 
conditions are followed. For more information, visit 
the website for the Alcoholic Beverages Division of 
the Iowa Department of Revenue.

If you have any questions or wish to report a child labor violation, contact:
Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing  •  Wage and Child Labor Unit, Investigations Division 

WCLU@dia.iowa.gov  •  515.631.8901
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