### **Contractor Registration Checklist**

You must have the following in order to meet the requirements of Iowa's contractor registration law:

I.A corporation must have a federal identification number. An individual owner must have a social security number. A partnership



may use the social security numbers of the partners if the business has applied for a federal identification number.

Current Iowa Unemployment Tax Account Number, if you have unemployment tax obligations and a number has been assigned to you. If not, all new contractor registration

applications will be presented to the Unemployment Tax Division to either be assigned a number or to check the validity of the previous owner's number.

3. Proof of workers' compensation insurance if you have employees. The proper proof is a certificate of workers' compensation insurance listing the Iowa Division of Labor as the certificate holder. 4. \$50 either in check form or money order, to pay the annual registration fee. Some individuals in the construction business are required to register, but are exempt from the \$50 registration fee. If you are self-employed, do not pay more than \$2,000 annually to employ others in the business, and do not work with or for other contractors in the same phases of construction you are fee exempt. You will need to file a fee exemption form.

5. If you purchased an Iowa contracting business, information about the acquired business will be needed.

6. A bond if the individual or company is an out-of-state contractor.



For applications, bond and fee exemption forms or instructions, visit www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm.

## **Additional Resources**

### Information on Additional Business Requirements

You may contact Iowa Workforce Development for general assistance on workforce issues at www.iowaworkforce.org or (800) 562-4692.

Business development information is available from the Iowa Economic Development Authority at www.iowaeconomicdevelopment.com or (800) 245-IOWA.

Business license information is available at www.iowa.gov/business.

Tax information is available from the lowa Department of Revenue at www.iowa.gov/tax or (866) 503-3453.

Business structure and organization information, such as how to form a corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship, is available at www.sos.state.ia.us/business/index.html or at the Secretary of State's office.

### Iowa Workforce Development Division of Labor

1000 E. Grand Ave. Des Moines, IA 50319-0209 Phone: (515) 242-5871 Fax: (515) 725-2427 Toll free: (800) 562-4692 ext. 25871 E-mail: contractor.registration@iwd.iowa.gov

# Iowa Contractor Registration



#### www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm



### **Contractor Registration** Frequently Asked Questions

### Does the State of Iowa require a Contractor Registration?

Yes. Iowa Code Chapter 91C requires most construction contractors to register. You are not to perform contractor work in Iowa without first being assigned a registration number.

### What contractors must register with the State?

All individual contractors and businesses performing "construction" work within Iowa must be registered if they earn more than \$2,000 a year. Individuals or businesses making less than \$2,000 a year in "construction" work, or who work only on their own real estate or property, are not required to register. Individual employees of eligible contractors are not required to register. A registration should be filed even if "construction" work is only incidental to your business (such as employee leasing agencies).

**How do I find out if a contractor is registered?** Visit www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm or call (515) 242-5871.

#### How do you define "construction"?

The definition of "construction" is very broad with 400+ categories. Examples include: Carpenters, electricians, plumbers, roofers, painters, general contractors, design-builders, engineer-constructors, joint-venture and turnkey construction contractors, sub-contractors and constructions management firms.

### What if I operate under more than one business?

You must register every contractor business that has a separate federal identification number.

### What if I incorporate my business?

If you first applied as a sole proprietor or partnership and then incorporate your business, you must re-apply as a new business and be issued a new contractor registration number.

### What are the purposes of contractor registration?

The purposes of contractor registrations are to ensure:

- compliance with unemployment insurance laws
- compliance with workers' compensation laws
  contractor biographical information is
- available to the general public.

### How do I get a registration application?

I. Download a copy of the registration application at www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm.

2. Visit 1000 E. Grand Ave. in Des Moines, IA,

located across the street from the State Capitol. 3. Call (515) 242-5871 to request an application; or 4. Request an application via e-mail:

contractor.registration@iwd.iowa.gov.

### What do I do with the completed registration form?

Submit your complete registration form to the Division of Labor along with the \$50 registration fee (check or money order) and a Certificate of Workers Compensation Insurance (if you have employees). A contractor with a home office outside of Iowa must also file a bond. Processing applications could take up to 30 days. You are not registered until a contractor registration number is issued.

### Are there exemptions from the \$50 annual fee?

A self-employed contractor may be exempt if they do not pay more than \$2,000 annually in wages to others working with them, and they do not work with or for other contractors in the same phase of construction. If this applies to you, complete the Fee Exemption Form, have it notarized and return it with your registration application form.

#### Do I have to renew my registration number?

Yes, registrations must be renewed annually. Renewal applications are the same as registration applications. A new Fee Exemption Form must be completed every year.

### What if the information on my registration changes?

It is your responsibility to notify the Division of Labor in writing if you have any changes after you submit your application. Changes could include name of your business, your name, business address, telephone number or e-mail address. Failure to report changes may subject you to citations and penalties.

#### Can I keep my same registration number?

So long as you renew your registration on time, you may keep the same registration number unless your Federal ID number changes.

### Is a bond needed to perform construction work in Iowa?

Out-of-state contractors are required to file a bond. Having a branch office in Iowa does not make you an in-state contractor if your principal place of business is based outside of Iowa.

#### What kind of bond must I have?

Bonds must be executed by a surety company licensed to do business in Iowa and issued on an official Division of Labor bond form. You may download the bond form from the web page or contact the Division of Labor and a form will be sent to you. The bond amount is \$25,000.

#### What is the purpose of the bond?

The bond guarantees that taxes, penalties and other payments due to the State of Iowa as a result of your job are paid. Only the State and its agencies can collect under the bond for nonpayment.

#### Do sub-contractors have to be registered? Yes.

What happens to the bond after I quit working? After you have completed your work in Iowa, your bonding company must send a written request to the Division of Labor asking that your bond be released back to you.

#### What are the penalties if I don't get registered, don't renew my registration every year or don't get the required bond? Violators may receive a \$500 citation. A citation up to \$5,000 may be imposed for a repeat violation.

#### If I am issued a citation, can I appeal?

From the day you received the citation, you have 15 days to file an appeal. If you do not file within the 15 days, then you do not have any right to appeal. If you promptly correct the violation, you may be eligible for a penalty reduction.

### Are there any other requirements for contractors working in Iowa?

Contact the county or city office where you plan to work. Additional information pertaining to specific trade licenses may be obtained from the IDED website at www.iowaeconomicdevelopment.com.

#### How do I contact the Contractor Registration Program?

Iowa Division of Labor, Contractor Registration 1000 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines, IA 50319-0209 Phone: (515) 242-5871; Fax: (515) 745-2427 E-mail: contractor.registration@iwd.iowa.gov Website:

www.iowaworkforce.org/labor/contractor.htm