

Contractor Registration

Application / Renewal Form

Mail form and fee to: DIAL

	Contractor Registration
	6200 Park Ave, Suite 100
	Des Moines, IA 50321
Questions? Contact:	515-242-5871
	Contractor.registration@dia.iowa.gov

Your registration WILL NOT be processed until all the following have been completed:

□ Signed and completed new application/renewal form.

- □ Valid Iowa unemployment insurance account number (regardless of if you are an out-of-state contractor and do/don't have employees) - create an account at https://www.myiowaui.org/
- □ NAICS code (see page 2) only applicable if NEW or wanting to change current NAICS.
- □ \$50.00 non-refundable check/money order or signed and notarized Fee Exemption form.
- □ Workers' Compensation #22 box checked and required documents attached (if applicable)
- □ Out of State Contractor Bond form with POA attached or letter from the DOT (if applicable)

1. Owner Name				2.	2. Business Name					
3. Doing Business As (if you have registered with the Secretary of			f State	e as a DBA onl	y)	4. Previous contractor registration #				
5. Phone number 6. Mobile number		mber	7	7. Fax number		8. Email address (for electronic notices)				
9. Address					10.	City		L	11. State	12. Zip
13. County			14. Owne	r's soci	ial seo	curity #	15.	Business FEIN#	16. NAICS	code #
17. □ New □ Renewal 18. IA Unemployment Insurance Account # 00-			siness	iness type: Corporation Partnership Sole Proprietor						
20.Name of additional owner, officer, partner, or member				Email address			Phone number			
Mailing address					City			State	Zip	
Name of additional owner, officer, partner, or member					Email address			Phone number		
Mailing address					City			State	Zip	
 21. Fee Exemption I do not qualify I believe I qualify (fee exemption form must be completed, signed, and notarized) 22. Iowa Workers' Compensation – Check ONE that applies to your business I have employees and am insured – enclose copy of Worker's Compensation Certificate of Insurance. I have employees and am self-insured – enclose copy of Certificate of Relief issued by the Iowa Insurance Division I have no employees; therefore, I am not required to provide a Worker's Compensation Certificate of Insurance. 										
23. Out-of-State Contractor										

24. I certify that the information on this form is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge

Name of individual completing form

Signature

Date

Supplying false information with a contractor registration application may result in a \$500.00 civil penalty and criminal prosecution

6200 Park Avenue | Suite 100 | Des Moines, IA 50321-1270 | 515.281.7102 TTY 515.242.6515

Plumbing, HVAC/R, Hydronics, and Mechanical Professionals

If you require a license with the Plumbers & Mechanicals Systems Board (PMSB), **do not complete this form**. Instead, visit the <u>DIAL Plumbing Mechanical Systems licensing website</u> or call <u>515.281.6071</u> to complete registration and licensing together.

Unemployment Insurance Account Number

You must obtain an unemployment insurance account number before applying for contractor registration, **even if you have no employees**. To obtain a UI#, visit <u>www.myiowaui.org</u> or contact customer service at 888-848-7442 or <u>IWDuitax@iwd.iowa.gov.</u>

NAICS Code

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used by Federal statistical agencies to classify businesses for statistical purposes.

		1		1	
230000	Other/Undefined	237310	Highway/Street and Bridge	238220	Plumbing/Heating & A/C
			Construction		Contractors
236115	New Single-Family Housing	237990	Other Heavy/Civil Engineering	238290	Other Building Equipment
	Construction				Contractors
236116	New Multifamily Housing	238110	Poured Concrete Foundation	238310	Drywall & Insulation Contractors
	Construction		Contractors		-
236117	New Housing For-Sale Builders	238120	Structural Steel/Precast Concrete	238320	Painting & Wall Covering
	_		Contractors		Contractors
236118	Residential Remodelers	238130	Framing Contractors	238330	Flooring Contractors
236210	Industrial Building Construction	238140	Masonry Contractors	238340	Tile/Terrazzo Contractors
236220	Commercial & Institutional Bldg	238150	Glass and Glazing Contractors	238350	Finish Carpentry Contractors
	Construction				
237110	Water/Sewer Line Construction	238160	Roofing Contractors	238390	Other Building Finishing
			_		Contractors
237120	Oil/Gas Pipeline Construction	238170	Siding Contractors	238910	Site Preparation Contractors
237130	Power/Communication Line	238190	Other Foundation/Structure & Bldg	238990	All Other Specialty Trade
	Construction		Exterior		Contractors
237210	Land Subdivision	238210	Electrical and Wiring Installation		

Workers' Compensation

A contractor with one or more employees must submit proof of workers' compensation insurance. In most cases, employers must submit a certificate of insurance showing an effective date and listing the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing as a certificate holder.

Out-of-State Contractors

Out-of-state contractors must file a \$25,000.00 surety bond at the time of registration. The bond must meet three criteria in order to be valid: 1) the bond must be executed by a surety company licensed to do business in Iowa, 2) the bond must be issued on the <u>Out-of-State Bond form</u> provided at the <u>DIAL</u> <u>Contractor Registration website</u> with the bonding company's seal and two original signatures, and 3) the bonding company must attach their Power of Attorney (POA) to the form. Once we have accepted a valid bond, we consider it continuous until we receive a bond cancellation from the bonding company. If an out-of-state contractor is pre-qualified to bid on projects for the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), they may submit their DOT-issued pre-qualification letter in lieu of a bond.

Fee Exemption

Sole proprietors and single-member LLC contractors who meet the specific criteria may send a completed, signed, and notarized <u>Fee Exemption form</u> instead of payment. To qualify for registering without payment, a self-employed contractor must not work with or for other contractors in the same phases of construction and must not pay more than \$2,000.00 per year to employ others. Single-member LLCs must submit proof of single-member status.

Online Public Portal

You may pay your annual \$50.00 non-refundable registration fee and submit your renewal/application online at the <u>DIAL Contractor Registration Website</u>. You will need to set up an online account prior to submitting your application and payment.