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First Name M. Initial

Last Name 

Address 

City State Zip 

Phone Number 

Email Address 

SSN DoB (MM/DD/YYYY) 

Place of Employment (optional) 

• The renewal period starts October 1 of each year.  Renewals mailed before October 1 are returned.
• Permits expire annually on December 31.  Renewal applications are due by December 1.
• Fee, application, and training certificates can be mailed to the address shown at the top of the form.
• Incomplete applications will be returned.
• Permit reinstatements (lapsed for more than 90 days) can use this form to reinstate at any time. 

 Applicant Information   Renewal Attachments
• Training must not have expired.
• Training must be Red Cross or a national equivalent.

☐ First Aid Training
• CPR/AED-only training can’t be

accepted.
• The training must specify that it includes

“first aid.”

☐ Bloodborne Pathogens Training
• Unless otherwise specified, bloodborne

pathogens trainings expire 1 year after
the completion date.

☐ Renewal Application Fee
• Check or money order payable to the

agency above.  Do not send cash.
• Applicable fees under the Fees section.

☐ Documentation for any Yes answer under
Affirmation (if applicable)

Privacy Act Notice: Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this registration application is required by 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13) and Iowa 
Code § 252J.8(1).  The number will be used in connection with the collection of child support obligations and as an internal means to 
accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law including Iowa Code § 421.18. 

Affirmation 
• Each Yes/No question must be answered.
• If you need to answer “Yes” to any question, follow the directions under the checkboxes.  Attach additional pages if

necessary.
1. During the previous licensing period, did you develop a medical

condition that in any way impairs or limits your ability to
perform the duties of this profession?

☐Yes  ☐No
If yes, describe your condition in the box
below.  Include a letter from a physician
stating how your condition will affect your
ability to perform the duties of this
profession.

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 

Tattoo Artist 
Permit Renewal Application 

Mail form and fee to: DIAL
ATTN: Tattoo Program 
6200 Park Ave, Suite 100 
Des Moines, IA 50321 

Questions? Contact: tattoo@dia.iowa.gov 

mailto:tattoo@dia.iowa.gov
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Affirmation (Continued) 

2. During the previous licensing period, did you engage in the
illegal or improper use of drugs or other chemical substances?

☐Yes  ☐No
If yes, provide a statement in the box
below and enclose a copy of relevant
documentation, including records from a
physician or treatment program.

3. During the previous licensing period, were you convicted of a
misdemeanor or felony crime?
• Exclude minor traffic violations with fines under $250.
• Include any convictions where the adjudication of guilt is

deferred, withheld, or not entered.

☐Yes  ☐No
If yes, include the complaint and judgment
of conviction for each offense in the box
below.  Include a statement of the
circumstances leading to each complaint.

4. During the previous licensing period, did any state, other US
jurisdiction, or other nation limit, restrict, warn, censure, place
on probation, suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline a
professional license, permit, registration, or certification issued
to you?

☐Yes  ☐No
If yes, provide the date, location, reason,
and resolution in the box below.

5. During the previous licensing period, were there judgments or
settlements paid on your behalf as a result of a professional
liability case?

☐Yes  ☐No
If yes, include the date, location, reason,
and resolution in the box below.

6. During the previous licensing period, did you have a license,
permit, registration, or certification denied, suspended,
revoked, or otherwise disciplined by a certification body?

☐Yes  ☐No
If yes, describe the circumstances in the
box below.

Permit Reinstatement (Artist permit lapsed for more than 90 days) 

• Questions 7 and 8 only apply if your tattoo artist permit has lapsed for more than 90 days

7. Since your permit expired, have you been tattooing in the
State of Iowa?

8. Are you reinstating for this year, next year, or both?
• Only applicable if you are reinstating during the program’s

renewal period (October 1 – December 31)

☐Yes  ☐No  ☐Not Applicable
If yes, include a $25 late fee for each
month lapsed.

☐This Year  ☐ Next Year  ☐Both
☐Not Applicable

CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE 
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Fees 
There is an annual, nonrefundable application fee of $75.00 payable by check or money order to the 
department listed at the top of the form.  Do not send cash in the mail. 
There is an additional $25/month late fee for all renewal applications mailed after December 1. 

Renewal mailed on: Fee Total 
October 1 – December 1 
(Applications received before October 1 will be returned) 

$75.00 

December 2 – December 31 (+ $25 late fee) $100.00 
January 1 – January 31 (+ $50 late fee) $125.00 
February 2 – March 1 (+ $75 late fee) $150.00 
March 2 and after - Permit expired (+ $25 Reinstatement fee) 
• If you answered “Yes” to question 7, you must include an 

additional $25 late fee for each month lapsed.  
• If you answered “Both” to question 8, add $75.00 to the fee 

total. 

$100.00 

Signature 

I hereby certify and declare under penalty of perjury that the information I provided in this document, including 
any attachments, is true and correct. I am responsible for the accuracy of the information provided regardless of 
who completes and submits the application. I understand that providing false and misleading information in or 
concerning my application may be cause for disciplinary action, denial, revocation, and/or criminal prosecution. I 
also understand that I am required to update answers or information submitted herewith if the response or the 
information changes. 

In submitting this application, I consent to any reasonable inquiry that may be necessary to verify or clarify the 
information I provided on or in conjunction with this application.  

I understand that this information is a public record in accordance with Iowa Code Chapter 492 and that 
application information is public information, subject to the exceptions contained in Iowa law. 

I have read and agree to comply with the permit requirements, work practice standards, and all other provisions 
of Iowa Administrative Code 481, Chapter 492.  

Applicant Signature     Date:    
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