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INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLY FOR A NEW CONTRACTOR LICENSE 
For assistance with creating an A&A account or finding or resetting your username and 
password, you will need to call the OCIO Help Desk:  515-281-5703 or 1-800-532-1174. 

For assistance with navigating the licensing portal, please contact the AMANDA Support 
Team 1-855-824-4357 between 7:30am – 5pm Monday to Friday. 
 
For specific questions regarding contractor registration, unemployment insurance requirements, 
workers compensation, or out of state contractor bonds, please contact the Division of Labor 
at contractor.registration@iwd.iowa.gov or 515-242-5871.   
 
For specific questions regarding the Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems program or 
license requirements, please visit the website http://idph.iowa.gov/pmsb or call 1-866-280-1521. 

 

BEFORE YOU BEGIN: 
These instructions assume you have already followed the steps to create an A&A 
account and set up your AMANDA profile page, including linking your company to your 
individual license profile page.  If you have not done these steps, go back to the IDPH 
Regulatory Programs Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board Page 
https://idph.iowa.gov/regulatory-programs/pmsb and follow the instructions to create an account. 

If you have followed the instructions to create an account and linked your contractor license to your 
account, you should see your company name listed in the left column once you logon to AMANDA.  If you 
do not see your company name listed there, please STOP and contact the AMANDA Support Team at 1-
855-824-4357.   

These instructions also assume this is an application for a NEW contractor (e.g. your company has 
NEVER been licensed as a contractor with the Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board).  If the company 
has previously been licensed and needs to renew the license, STOP and go back to the IDPH Regulatory 
Programs Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board Page https://idph.iowa.gov/regulatory-programs/pmsb 
and follow the instructions for contractor renewal.  If this is a new application for a contractor license, 
proceed with the next steps. 

The AMANDA application works best in Chrome and Safari. If you need to use Internet Explorer, you will 
need to change three settings in order for the portal to function properly: 1) pop up blocker must be turned 
off; 2) iowa.gov must be added to compatibility view; and 3) iowa.gov must be added to trusted sites.  
Contact the AMANDA Support Team if you need help with adjusting these settings for Internet Explorer. 

Contractors who perform services in plumbing, HVAC, refrigeration, hydronics, or mechanical systems 
now have a “one-stop shop” to apply for both the contractor license and contractor registration on a single 
application.  Previously contractors were required to apply/renew the license with the board office every 3 
years and also submit a separate application and fee for contractor registration to Iowa Workforce 
Development Division of Labor on an annual basis.  Beginning with this renewal, contractor licensure and 
registration have been combined into a single 3-year application and renewal process.    This means that 
you will be required to submit a fee for a 3-year contractor registration in addition to the contractor license 
renewal fee, and the documentation required by the Division of Labor for contractor registration. 

DOCUMENTATION NEEDED: 

Unemployment Insurance Number: A valid unemployment insurance number (UI#) is 
required, even if you have no employees. To obtain a UI# visit www.myiowaui.org or contact 
Unemployment Insurance customer service at 888-848-7442 or email IWDuitax@iwd.iowa.gov.  
 
Workers Compensation Compliance Information: A contractor with one or more 
employees must have either a Workers’ Compensation Insurance certificate listing the “Iowa 
Division of Labor” as a certificate holder or a Certificate of Relief issued by the Iowa Insurance 
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Division.  If you have no employees, you will select “I have no employees” for your compliance 
method. 
 
Master of Record Information: You will need the license number, trade, and name for each 
individual serving as a master of record for your business.  If you are a sole proprietor, you must 
personally hold the master licenses. 

Bond and Insurance Information:   

• IDPH Certificate of Liability. 
o A minimum of $500,000 general business liability coverage. 
o The certificate holder needs to be listed as the Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems 

Board, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319. 
o The certificate of liability needs a 10 day (minimum) cancellation notice. 

 
• IDPH Surety Bond or continuation certificate: 

o Minimum amount of $5,000. 
o The obligee for the bond must be listed as the customers of the principal.  It cannot be the 

state of Iowa or the Board.  There have been bonds approved that used language such as, 
“licensee’s Iowa customers” or “Person(s) injured by Principal’s breach of construction 
contract.”  

o The surety bond also needs a 10 day (minimum) cancellation notice provided to the Iowa 
Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board.   
 

• IWD Out of State Contractor Bond or continuation certificate if you are an out of state contractor: 
o File a $25,000 surety bond at the time of registration or renewal. 
o Bond is to be issued by a surety company licensed to do business in Iowa. 
o Complete the Division of Labor – Out-of-state bond form.  The out of state contractor bond 

form can be found at www.iowacontractor.gov – under Quick Links, click on “Out of State 
Contractor Bond Form.” 

o Visit www.iowacontractor.gov and under Quick Links go to “Bond Requirements” for more 
details.   

 
• IWD Worker’s Compensation Insurance or Certificate of Relief: 

o A contractor with one or more employees must include a copy of Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance certificate listing the “Iowa Division of Labor” as a certificate holder or; 

o Attach a copy of Certificate of Relief issued by the Iowa Insurance Division. 
 

• IWD Notarized Fee Exemption Form: 
o If you are requesting an exemption from the Division of Labor registration fee, you must attach 

a copy of the Fee Exemption Form (Visit www.iowacontractor.gov and under Quick Links 
select “Fee Exemption Form” for more details). 

o This form must be notarized and applies only to the registration fee and NOT the PMSB 
license fee. 
 

Note: You will need to attach a copy of your insurance and bond information to complete 
your renewal application.  If you do not have a scanned copy, the information may be 
mailed but it will delay the processing of your renewal. 

If you are unable to scan and complete the steps for adding attachments through the public 
portal, mail required attachments to: 

 Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board 
 ATTN: Contractor Renewal 
 321 E 12th St 
 Des Moines, IA  50319-0075 
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STEP 1:  SIGN IN WITH EXISTING A&A ACCOUNT 
 

• Begin by opening your web browser and navigating to the Iowa Department of Public 
Health Regulatory Program webpage at the following location: 
https://dphregprograms.iowa.gov/PublicPortal/Iowa/IDPH/common/index.jsp 

• Sign in with your username and password. 
 

STEP 2: SELECT YOUR COMPANY 
To proceed you will need to be linked with your existing contractor license.  If you do not see 
your company in the Registered User’s Membership box, STOP and contact the AMANDA 
Support Team at 1-855-824-4357 for assistance.  If you see your company profile listed in the 
left column, click on the company name and then click Continue. 

 

• Verify all information is accurate and make any necessary corrections.   
• To add additional addresses or contact information, click on the Addresses button.      

STEP 3: REVIEW COMPANY PROFILE 
It is extremely important that you review your company profile before proceeding to renew your 
license.  Once you have selected your company from the list of memberships, click on 
Company Profile.  Be sure to confirm the email address (your license certificate will be sent to 

this email address if you have one on file) and company address. 

 

If the email or address information is wrong, please STOP and contact the AMANDA Support 
Team at 1-855-824-4357.   
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STEP 4: APPLY FOR LICENSE 
When you are on the My Programs page you will proceed through the application as a 
representative of the company. While acting on behalf of the company, you will not see your 
personal license information.   

• Click on the Apply for a Program link.    

 

STEP 5: SELECT PROGRAM TYPE 
• Next to Program, select Plumbing and Mechanical Systems.   
• Next to Program Detail, select Contractor License. 
• Click Continue. 

 

A pop-up message will appear. Click OK. 

 
You will now be taken to the Application Form page for a contract license.   
• Click Expand All to view information fields in Application Form Section. 
• SKIP THESE TABS: License Select, Continuing Education, and Exam Candidate.  

 

 
STEP 6 – ENTER AFFIRMATION QUESTIONS 

• Under the Affirmation section, all questions must be answered.  
• If you answer Yes to any of the questions, you must provide details in the corresponding 

question.   
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STEP 7 – ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
Select whether you provided an EIN or SSN to create your contractor license account. 

STEP 8 – CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION 
If you already have a contractor registration number with the Division of Labor, select Yes.  
Provide the number in the space provided.  (This number begins with a “C.”) If you do not 
already have a contractor registration number, select No. 

STEP 9 – IWD CONTRACTOR INFORMATION 
All the fields in this section are required.  Provide a response to each question.  Note: If you are 
asking for a fee exemption from the registration portion of the fee, you must be able to answer 
“Yes” to all the questions in this section and you must attach the notarized fee exemption form.  
The fee exemption only applies to the Division of Labor registration fee and not the PMSB 
contractor license fee.   

 

Skip the next tabs you see for License Select, Continuing Education, and Exam Candidate – Do 
NOT enter anything in these sections.  

Click Continue to proceed with the application.   

STEP 10 – IWD CONTACT LIST  
• Click to expand this section.  NOTE: Scroll to the right to see additional fields in this 

section.  
• Click Add to add contacts. Click Save after completing each row. 
• Repeat these steps for each contact. 
• Click Continue when you have added all your contacts. 

 
STEP 11 – TRADES (MASTER OF RECORD INFO) 
Click to expand this section.  
• For each of the trades that you will be contracting in you must add the trade name and 

license number of the person who will be serving as your master of record (MOR).  If you 
have submitted a master license application, but it has not been approved yet, STOP.  
Contact the AMANDA Support Team at 1-855-824-4357 before proceeding. 

• Click Add if you/the designated MOR already has an active master license and number. 
• Select the trade and enter the license number of your master of record. 
• Click Save when done. 
• Repeat these steps for each new master of record and trade. 
• Click Save when done. 
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STEP 12 – INSURANCE AND BOND DETAILS 
Click to expand this section.   
• Click Add to add a new row.   
• Select the insurance/bond type from the drop down menu and then fill in the details for the 

insurance/bond. 
• Click Save when done. 
• Click Add to continue adding rows.  You will need to enter a row for certificate of liability 

(IDPH), Surety Bond (IDPH), Worker’s Compensation Insurance (IWD) or Certificate of 
Relief (IWD) unless you have no employees; and Out of State Contractor Bond (IWD) if 
you are an out of state contractor. 

• Click Save when done. 

 

STEP 13 – ADD ATTACHMENTS 
To add any required documentation such as notarized fee exemption form, insurance 
and bond forms, you will need to click the Add New Attachment button. Skip this step if 
you do not have any attachments to add. 

  

When clicked the Attachment Description area will expand.   
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• To select a Type of attachment, click the dropdown arrow and select the attachment type.  
Ex: IWD Fee Exemption, PMSB Surety Bond , etc. 

• Enter a description of the file. 
• Click Choose File button. 
• This will open your file explorer, navigate to the directory where the file is you want to 

attach and double click it. The name of the document should be showing next to the 
Choose File button. 

• Continue this process for each document you would like to attach. 

NOTE: If you attach a document in error, it cannot be removed by you. You will need to contact 
the AMANDA Support Team to have it removed. 

STEP 14 – TERMS AND CONDITIONS 
Please read the terms and conditions.  If you agree, click the box next to I agree with 
the terms and conditions. Click Continue.   

 

STEP 15 – MAKE A PAYMENT 
Next you will be taken to the Make Payment page. If you need to attach additional 
documentation click the Pay Later button.  Otherwise, skip to the Pay Now instructions. 
 
If you select Pay Now you will be directed to the online payment system. Select Pay Now when 
asked, and complete your online payment information.   
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Select Payment Method, and fill in your payment details. Click Continue. 

The following page is your confirmation page. 

 

 

 

Once you have submitted payment, you should keep a record of your Confirmation Number or 
print the receipt page that appears for your records.  Click My Profile to return to your profile 
page or My Programs to return to your list of licenses. 

PAY LATER: 
If you selected Pay Later, you will get a pop-up box that your application is not considered 
submitted until payment is made. Click OK. 

• You will be returned to your My Programs page where you will see your license listed 
and the status.   

• When you are ready to complete the application process, navigate to your My Programs 
page and click on the row for the individual license and then click on the Details link.  

• Click Make a Payment.  Follow the payment steps provided above. 

 

NOTE: If under the Details column it shows a link for Edit instead of Details, this means there 
is missing information within the application. Click the Edit link to review all sections of the form 
and complete any missing information before attempting to pay.  

CHECK STATUS ONLINE 
Once you have submitted payment, your application will be reviewed by PMSB staff.  Your 
application will NOT be reviewed until a payment has been made. 

To issue a contractor license and contractor registration, you must either submit a copy of the 
following attachments online or mail the documents to the PMSB office and indicate they are for 
a pending contractor renewal application.  The fastest route is to attach the documents online.  
Expect significant delays if you mail this information rather than attaching it online. 

• Proof of IDPH Certificate of Liability. 
• IDPH Surety Bond or continuation certificate: 
• IWD Out of State Contractor Bond or continuation certificate if you are an out of state contractor: 

59234 

59234 
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• IWD Worker’s Compensation Insurance or Certificate of Relief: 
• IWD Notarized Fee Exemption Form: 

If you are unable to scan documents and complete the steps for adding attachments through the 
public portal, mail required attachments to: 

 Plumbing & Mechanical Systems Board 
 ATTN: Contractor Renewal 
 321 E 12th St 
 Des Moines, IA  50319-0075 
 
Information for your Division of Labor contractor registration will be sent electronically to the 
Division of Labor.  Payment for the “registration” portion of the fee will also be sent electronically 
to the Division of Labor unless you indicated you have a fee exemption.  The Division of Labor 
must approve and issue your contractor registration number before your PMSB contractor 
license can be renewed or issued. 

Once your application has been paid for and all information is complete including required 
attachments, the status online will show “Ready to Issue” or you will see the license listed with a 
status of “Active” and an expiry date of 6/30/2020.   

When the license has been approved, you will be automatically emailed a copy of your new 
license certificate and wallet card.  The email will be sent to the email address you provided 
when creating your company profile for your contractor license.  NOTE: This may be a different 
email address than the one you provided for your individual account.  Go to your Company 
Profile to see the email address on file.  If you need to change the email or physical address of 
the company, please contact the AMANDA Support Team 1-855-824-4357. 

The license certificate and wallet card will be sent as a PDF attachment to the company email 
address.  You may print the PDF or have it available for display on your electronic device.  If 
there was an error sending to the email address you provided, the license certificate and wallet 
card will be printed by PMSB staff and mailed to the address that appears under your Company 
Profile. 


