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PHARMACY BOARD [657] 

Adopted and Filed 

The Board of Pharmacy hereby amends Chapter 5, “Pharmacy Support Persons,” Iowa 
Administrative Code. 

Legal Authority for Rule Making 

This rule making is adopted under the authority provided in Iowa Code sections 147.76 
and 155A.6B.  

State or Federal Law Implemented 

This rule making implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code section 155A.6B. 
Purpose and Summary 

The amendments are a result of an overall five-year review as required by Iowa Code section 
17A.7(2). The amendments: 
 ● Require pharmacy support persons to be registered prior to commencing employment in a 
pharmacy; 
 ● Modify the structure of late renewal and reactivation processes and penalties to match the 
structure implemented for other licenses and registrations of the Board; 
 ● Allow the Board to assess a $15 fee for written verification of a registration; 
 ● Provide broader language relating to the delegation of nontechnical pharmacy functions to 
a pharmacy support person beyond those related solely to dispensing; 
 ● Prohibit a license holder from requiring a supervising pharmacist to delegate function to a 
support person against the pharmacist’s professional judgment; 
 ● Require support persons to report to the Board, within 30 days, any criminal conviction or 
disciplinary action taken; 
 ● Simplify, clarify, and condense rules; 
 ● Incorporate language reflecting the Board’s new online application process; 
 ● Update references. 

 

Public Comment and Changes to Rule Making 

Notice of Intended Action for this rule making was published in the Iowa Administrative 
Bulletin on January 13, 2021, as ARC 5374C. The board received comments from the Iowa 
Pharmacy Association and from Walgreens. The comments expressed concern with the 
expectation that support persons must be registered prior to commencing employment in a 
pharmacy instead of the current 30 day grace period and IPA suggested a delayed 
implementation. The Board has implemented an online application process for pharmacy support 
persons which may be completed in a matter of minutes which the board has determined could 
be completed during an employee’s onboarding process with all other employment 
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documentation that is required (such as for benefits or payroll deductions, etc.). While the 
board’s online application will be operational well in advance of an effective date of this 
rulemaking, the board determined that an effective date of July 1, 2021 would provide the board 
additional time to educate pharmacies about the online application opportunity. As such, rule 5.4 
was edited to provide a future effective date of the requirement for registration prior to 
commencing employment and retain language providing for the 30 day grace period through 
June 30, 2021. 

Adoption of Rule Making 

This rule making was adopted by the Board on _____, 2021. 
Fiscal Impact 

This rule making has no fiscal impact to the state of Iowa.  
Jobs Impact 

After analysis and review of this rule making, no impact on jobs has been found. 
Waivers 

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rule 
making would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Board for a waiver of 
the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 657—Chapter 34. 

Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee 

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which 
oversees rule making by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request 
by any individual or group, review this rule making at its regular monthly meeting or at a special 
meeting. The Committee’s meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard 
as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6). 

Effective Date 

This rule making will become effective on _____, 2021. 
The following rule-making action is adopted: 

 ITEM 1. Amend rule 657—5.4(155A) as follows: 

657—5.4(155A) Registration required. Unless exempt in rule 657—5.5(155A), any individual 
employed by a pharmacy who has direct access to prescription drugs or confidential patient 
information must be registered as a pharmacy support person. Beginning July 1, 2021, prior to 
commencing employment in an Iowa pharmacy as a pharmacy support person, an individual 
shall obtain registration as a pharmacy support person. Any registered pharmacy support person 
who discontinues employment as a pharmacy support person shall not be required to maintain a 
registration and shall request cancellation of the registration as provided in rule 657—
5.14(155A). 
 5.4(1) Effective date. Beginning June 1, 2010, a pharmacy support person shall register with 
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the board pursuant to the requirements of this chapter. 
 5.4(2) Registration number. Each pharmacy support person registered with the board will be 
assigned a unique registration number. 
 5.4(3) Original application required. Any Through June 30, 2021, any person required to 
register and not previously registered with the board as a pharmacy support person shall 
complete an application for registration within 30 days of accepting employment in an Iowa 
pharmacy as a pharmacy support person. Such application shall be received in the board office 
before the expiration of this 30-day period. 
 5.4(4) Employment terminated. A registered pharmacy support person who discontinues 
employment as a pharmacy support person shall not be required to maintain a registration and 
shall request cancellation of the registration as provided in rule 657—5.14(155A). 

 ITEM 2. Amend rule 657—5.5(155A) as follows: 

657—5.5(155A) Exempt from registration. Unless a person has direct access to prescription 
drugs, the The following shall be exempt from registration as a pharmacy support person: 
 1. Delivery person. A licensed pharmacist, registered pharmacist-intern, or registered 
pharmacy technician. 
 2. Billing clerk, including a person who processes claims for third-party payments. 
 3. Data processing support, maintenance, or programming personnel. 
 4. 2. Facility maintenance personnel including but not necessarily limited to cleaning, 
sanitation, structural, and mechanical maintenance personnel. Facility maintenance personnel 
deemed exempt from registration shall be directly supervised by a pharmacist or a certified 
pharmacy technician who is responsible for the maintenance person’s activities within the 
pharmacy department to ensure medication security and patient privacy. 
 5. 3. Any person not directly employed by or under contract to the pharmacy, and not 
under the direct supervision of a pharmacist, who provides data processing, data processing 
support, programming, maintenance, billing, maintenance, delivery, or administrative support 
functions outside the pharmacy department. 
 6. A registered pharmacist-intern or a registered pharmacy technician. 

 ITEM 3. Rescind paragraph 5.7(1)“b.” 

 ITEM 4. Reletter paragraphs 5.7(1)“c”  to “e” as 5.7(1)“b”  to “d.” 

 ITEM 5. Amend subrule 5.7(5) as follows: 
 5.7(5) Sworn signature. The applicant shall sign the application under penalty of perjury and 
shall submit the application to the board with the appropriate nonrefundable fees pursuant to 
rules rule 657—5.9(155A) and 657—5.11(155A). 

 ITEM 6. Rescind rule 657—5.9(155A) and adopt the following new rule in lieu thereof: 

657—5.9(155A) Registration fee, term, and renewal. 
 5.9(1) Fee. The nonrefundable application fee for a pharmacy support person registration 
shall be $25. The nonrefundable application fee for a pharmacy support person registration shall 
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be submitted in the form of a personal check, certified check, cashier’s check, or money order 
made payable to the Iowa Board of Pharmacy when submitted with a written application or by 
acceptable debit or credit card when submitted with an online application. 
 5.9(2) Term. A pharmacy support person registration shall expire on the second last day of 
the birth month following initial registration. Registration shall not require continuing education 
for renewal. 
 5.9(3) Renewal. A pharmacy support person registration shall be renewed prior to the 
expiration of the registration. 
 a.  Delinquent registration grace period. A pharmacy support person registration which is 
not renewed prior to the expiration of the registration shall be considered delinquent. Renewal 
during the month following the expiration date of the registration shall include the nonrefundable 
registration fee pursuant to subrule 5.9(1) and a nonrefundable late penalty fee of $25. A 
registered pharmacy support person who renews during the month following the expiration date 
of the registration shall not be subject to disciplinary action for continuing to practice as a 
pharmacy support person during the delinquency of the registration. 
 b.  Registration reactivation beyond grace period. If the registration is not renewed prior to 
the expiration of the one-month grace period identified in paragraph 5.9(3)“a,” the individual 
shall cease practice as a pharmacy support person until the registration is reactivated. A 
pharmacy support person with an expired registration may apply for registration reactivation by 
submitting a completed application for reactivation and a nonrefundable reactivation fee of $100. 
An individual who continues employment as a pharmacy support person with an expired 
registration, in addition to the pharmacy and the pharmacist in charge that allow the individual to 
continue practice as a pharmacy support person, may be subject to disciplinary sanctions. 
 c.  Voluntary cancellation. A registered pharmacy support person who ceases practice as a 
pharmacy support person and does not intend to renew the registration prior to its expiration may 
request that the board cancel the registration. If the pharmacy support person later seeks 
registration as a pharmacy support person, the individual shall not be assessed a late penalty fee 
or reactivation fee for renewal of the registration. 

 ITEM 7. Rescind and reserve rules 657—5.10(155A) and 657—5.11(155A). 

 ITEM 8. Amend rule 657—5.13(155A) as follows: 

657—5.13(155A) Registration certificates verification. The original registration certificate 
issued by the board to a pharmacy support person shall be maintained by the pharmacy support 
person. Verification of current registration shall be maintained in each pharmacy where the 
pharmacy support person is employed in that capacity and shall be available for inspection by the 
board. The board may require the submission of a nonrefundable fee of $15 for written 
verification of a registration. 

 ITEM 9. Amend rule 657—5.14(155A) as follows: 

657—5.14(155A) Notifications to the board. A registered pharmacy support person shall report 
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to the board within ten days a change of name, address, place of employment, or employment 
status. 

 ITEM 10. Amend rule 657—5.17(155A) as follows: 

657—5.17(155A) Tasks a pharmacy support person shall not perform. A pharmacy support 
person shall not perform any of the following judgmental or technical functions. Performance of 
any of these tasks by a pharmacy support person shall constitute the practice of pharmacy 
without a license in violation of Iowa Code section 155A.7. A pharmacy support person shall 
not: 
 1. to 8. No change. 
 9. Process or enter , including entry into the pharmacy computer system, pertinent clinical 
patient or prescription information, including entry of that information into the pharmacy 
computer system, except as provided in rule 657—5.18(155A) allergies and disease state 
information. 
 10. to 14. No change.  
 15. Perform any of the duties identified in 657—Chapter 3 as technical functions pursuant to 
657—Chapter 3 that may be delegated to a pharmacy technician. 

 ITEM 11. Rescind and reserve rule 657—5.18(155A). 

 ITEM 12. Rescind rule 657—5.21(155A) and adopt the following new rule in lieu thereof: 

657—5.21(155A) Delegation of functions and responsibility of supervising pharmacist. 
Pursuant to established policies and procedures and the supervising pharmacist’s professional 
judgment, a supervising pharmacist may delegate nontechnical functions in the operation of the 
pharmacy, except those which are prohibited pursuant to rule 657—5.17(155A), to an 
appropriately trained and registered pharmacy support person, but only if the pharmacist is on 
site and available to supervise the pharmacy support person when delegated functions are 
performed, except as provided in rule 657—6.7(124,155A) or 657—7.6(155A), as appropriate. 
The ultimate responsibility for the actions of a pharmacy support person shall remain with the 
supervising pharmacist. A pharmacy license holder shall not infringe on the authority of a 
supervising pharmacist to delegate or decline to delegate specific nontechnical functions to a 
pharmacy support person based on the supervising pharmacist’s professional judgment regarding 
the knowledge and training of the pharmacy support person. 

 ITEM 13. Amend rule 657—5.25(147,155A), introductory paragraph, as follows: 

657—5.25(147,155A) Unethical conduct or practice. Violation by a pharmacy support person 
of any of the provisions of this rule shall constitute unethical conduct or practice and may be 
grounds for disciplinary action as provided in rule 657—5.26(155A) 657—5.27(155A). 

 ITEM 14. Renumber rule 657—5.26(155A) as 657—5.27(155A). 

 ITEM 15. Adopt the following new rule 657—5.26(155A): 
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657—5.26(155A) Reporting discipline and criminal convictions. A registered pharmacy 
support person shall provide to the board written notice of and unredacted documents related to 
any disciplinary or enforcement action imposed by any licensing agency or regulatory authority 
on any license or registration held by the registered pharmacy support person no later than 30 
days after the final action. Discipline may include, but is not limited to, fine or civil penalty, 
citation or reprimand, probationary period, suspension, revocation, and voluntary surrender. A 
registered pharmacy support person shall provide written notice and unredacted documents to the 
board of any criminal conviction that is related to the practice of pharmacy or controlled 
substances no later than 30 days after the conviction. The term “criminal conviction” includes 
instances when the judgment of conviction or sentence is deferred. 

 ITEM 16. Amend 657—Chapter 5, implementation sentence, as follows: 
These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code sections 147.55, 147.80, 155A.3, 155A.6B, 

155A.18 and 155A.23 and 2009 Iowa Code Supplement section 155A.6B. 
 

 
 

 


