Iowa Architectural Examining Board 2023 Renewal Information Individual License Renewal for biennium July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2025

Renewals begin May 1, 2023.

Cost

	On or before June 30, 2023
Active	\$200
Inactive	\$100
Retired	No Fee

There is no grace period. If you do not renew your license by June 30th including payment of all fees, your license will lapse and you will need to reinstate (with additional continuing education required).

Continuing Education Requirements

Active Status

- Licensed for less than 12 months (August 1, 2022 or after): No continuing education required
- Licensed for 12 months or more but less than 24 months (August 1, 2021 through July 31, 2021): At least 12 hours of public protection (HSW) hours
- Licensed for 24 months or more (on or prior to July 31, 2021): At least 24 public protection (HSW) hours

All classes must be completed between July 1, 2021 and June 30, 2023 (or the date of renewal, whichever is sooner.). However, if you were licensed after July 1, 2021, classes must be completed between the issue date of your license and June 30, 2023 (or the date of renewal, whichever is sooner).

Inactive and Retired

No CE required

Frequently Asked Questions

When do the 24 hours of HSW continuing education need to be completed?

The 24 HSW hours must be completed between July 1, 2021 and June 30, 2023 (or the date of renewal, whichever is sooner.) However, if you were licensed after July 1, 2021, classes must be completed between the issue date of your license and June 30, 2023 (or the date of renewal, whichever is sooner).

What are the ways to provide CEU?

- Attest to the number of hours
- Manually input each course and upload certificate
- Upload AIA transcript
- Out of state affidavit for non-residents of lowa who have a mandatory continuing education requirement in the state of residence

I don't have 24 hours of HSW continuing education. What are my options?

Option 1: If you have time prior to June 30, 2023, complete the hours and then submit your renewal application. CE must be completed prior to your renewal date AND must be completed on or by June 30,

2023. The renewal application deadline is 11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2023. If you are not able to complete the required courses by that time, please see the other options.

Option 2: Renew in inactive status. You may not practice architecture (as listed in Iowa Code section 544A.16) while inactive; however, you can take the required classes and then apply to change to active status.

Option 3: Petition the board for additional time to take classes. You must complete the "General - Petition for Waiver from Administrative Rules" application online and submit for review no later than 11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2023.

Please be advised that if you renew and do not have 24 hours of HSW continuing education, you may face disciplinary action, including public discipline, a civil penalty between \$50 and \$250, and additional continuing education hours equal to double the deficiency in addition to the required hours. These additional hours may not be used toward a future renewal or reinstatement.

How do I request an exemption from the CEU requirement?

To request an exemption from these requirements (for situations such as working overseas, active military service, or hardship situations) please complete the "General - Petition for Waiver from Administrative Rules" application online and submit for review no later than 11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2023.

What is an inactive license?

Inactive licensure is available to a certificate holder residing within or outside lowa who is not engaged in lowa in any practice for which licensure as an architect is required. While inactive, a person shall not use the title "architect" or any other title that might imply that the person is offering services as an architect. Continuing education is not required, and the renewal fee is \$100.

What is a retired status?

Retired means that the person is not engaged in the practice of architecture or earning monetary compensation by providing architectural service in any licensing jurisdiction in the United States or a foreign country. Retired licensure status is available to a person who does not reasonably expect to return to the workforce in any capacity for which a license is required due to a bona fide retirement or disability. The title "architect - retired" may be used in the context of non-income-producing personal activities. Continuing education is not required.

I am retired. Do I need to renew?

Those architects who wish to be in retired status need to renew as retired for the first biennial after being in active or inactive status. After that, retired architects do not need to renew again.

To Renew Your License

- 1. Navigate to https://iowaplb.force.com/IPLB login.
- 2. Enter your username (usually your email address) and password. If you have forgotten your password, click on the "Forgot Password" button. An email will come your inbox with a link to set up a new password.
- 3. On the MY Iowa PLB Home screen, click on your license number listed under the "My Licenses" section.

- 4. Click on "Begin Application Process."
- 5. Verify your name and contact information. If it is correct, click "Next." If you need to edit the information, click on "Yes" and follow the prompts to edit.
- 6. Verify your residential address. If it is correct, click "Next." If you need to edit the information, click on "Yes" and follow the prompts to edit.
- 7. Select Architect License Renewal from the drop down. Click "Next."
- 8. On the "You are About to Create the Following Application," click "Continue" then click "Next."
- 9. Select the preferred address. Click "Next."
- 10. Click "Finish."
- 11. Click on "Complete Checklist" and answer the questions. Once you have them completed, you will return to the application page. If you have submissions, click on Upload submissions. Once you are done, click on "Submit for Review."
- 12. Pay fees.
- 13. Your license card will be emailed to you.