



KIM REYNOLDS GOVERNOR ADAM GREGG LT. GOVERNOR JEFF PLAGGE
SUPERINTENDENT

Trainee/Associate Appraiser Frequently Asked Questions

I want to become a real estate appraiser. What do I need to do?

Congratulations on your decision to become an appraiser. The steps to become an associate appraiser, known in most states as a trainee appraiser, consists of a background check, education, procurement of a supervisor, and application submission. The steps can be completed in any order so long as all the prerequisites are met prior to the application for Associate Registration.

- State and Federal Background Check
 - O At the time of registration, the applicant must have had a background check completed by the Iowa Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board within the past 180 days. Applicants are required to submit an online application in the Board's licensing database (https://iowaplb.force.com/IPLB_login) titled: RE Appraiser -Background Packet Request to receive the fingerprint cards and applicable waivers. Background checks take approximately 3 weeks to conduct, but may take longer.
- Procurement of a Supervisor
 - o In order to submit the online application titled, Associate Registration, the applicant must identify their supervisory appraiser/s. The Board cannot assist you in finding a supervisor. You will need the supervisor's name and license number at the time of application. You supervisor should provide you with a copy of their four-hour Supervisor/Trainee course certificate which must have been completed within the five years immediately preceding your registration.

Education

At the time of registration, the applicant is required to upload copies of the following educational courses. Note: An applicant may bypass some or all of the educational component listed below if they hold a degree in Real Estate from an accredited degree-granting college or university who has had their curriculum reviewed and approved by The Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation so long as the degree was obtained within the five years immediately preceding the associate appraiser registration. The list of approved degree programs can be found at:

https://appraisalfoundation.sharefile.com/share/view/sa221f6bcb0c04e538ae2ce7e8753ec50/fo4c45c2-d3b5-4bed-84dc-e30e2b37b339.

- A 15-Hour UPAP Course or its equivalent
- A 30-Hour Basic Appraisal Procedures Course
- A 30-Hour Basic Appraisal Principles Course
- A 4-hour Supervisor/Trainee Appraisal Course.

• Application for Registration

 Submit the online application titled, Associate Appraiser Registration, located at: https://iowaplb.force.com/IPLB_login.

Resources

- It's recommended that you read the AQB Criteria located at:
 https://www.appraisalfoundation.org/imis/TAF/Standards/Qualification_Criteria/Qualification_Criteria
 Property P
- o Iowa Administrative Rules 193F: https://www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/chapters?agency=193F
- Course Providers:
 - AQB Approved Courses:
 https://www.appraisalfoundation.org/imis/TAF/Resources/Courses/Course_Approval_Program/TAF/AQB_CAP.aspx?hkey=f7d59bff-d539-4732-a35a-2a5e44d05c64
 - Iowa Approved Courses: https://iowaplb.force.com/CourseSearchPage

I am applying to become a trainee appraiser, when can I start logging hours?

A trainee appraiser may log hours once they receive confirmation that their associate appraiser application has been processed and after they've paid the registration fee. The applicant will receive an email with a welcome letter, and other items, which will outline the date experience tracking may begin.

I am registered as a trainee and I want to change (add or remove) a supervisor. What do I need to do?

The below outlines the various requirements depending on if you want to add a supervisor or remove a supervisor. It is possible that you may need to complete both applications. If that is the case, you should try to add the new supervisor before you remove your current one when feasible.

1. Add a Supervisor

To add a supervisor, the trainee appraiser will need to submit an application in the online licensing system (https://iowaplb.force.com/IPLB_login) titled, "Add Supervisor

Appraiser." The applicant will need to know the supervisor's certification number and the date the supervisor and applicant took the 4-hour Supervisor/Trainee Course. A copy of the certificates for each are required and must have been completed within the five years immediately preceding the application to add the supervisor. The applicant will receive an email once the application has been approved informing them that the fee may be paid. Once the fee is paid, the applicant may begin logging hours under the new supervisor.

2. Remove a Supervisor

To remove a supervisor, either the trainee, or their supervisor, will need to submit an application in the online licensing system (https://iowaplb.force.com/IPLB_login). Trainee appraisers will submit the application titled, "Remove Supervisor from Associate and if being completed by the supervisor, the supervisor will complete the application titled, Removal of Associate from Supervisor. Only one person needs to submit an application. You will need to know the date that supervision ended. Note: If a trainee has a supervisor removed and does not have another active supervisor at the time of removal, the trainee will be placed in inactive status per IAC 193F 4.4(2).

I just met all the requirements to sit for the national exam. What do I need to do to get exam approval?

Once you have all the required qualifying education, collegiate education, and experience hours needed to sit for the national exam, you will submit an application in the online licensing system (https://iowaplb.force.com/IPLB_login) titled, Exam and Experience Application. You will be required to upload official transcripts, qualifying education course certificates if not using an approved AQB degree, an AQB compliant log and any other required documentation. Once your exam application has been reviewed to ensure it is complete, the application will be placed in internal pending status until the Board can complete its investigation of your work product. At this time, an application, titled "Other" will be created by the Executive Officer and three reports will be chosen from your log as part of the work product review process. Once you've completed the work product review process, which entails having your reports reviewed by a peer reviewer and an interview with the work product committee, the Board will make a decision on whether or not you may sit for the exam. If approved to sit for the exam, your exam and experience application will be processed and you will receive an email to submit the application fee. Once the fee is paid, you will be issued the exam approval letter and supporting document outlining the process to schedule the exam.

Does my supervisor have to attend the work product interview with me?

Yes, unless there are extenuating circumstances that prohibits your supervisor from attending a meeting, at least one supervisor is required to attend the work product meeting with the trainee. If your supervisor cannot attend, you should inform the Board and the committee will decide if

the interview should be postponed or if there is sufficient grounds to circumvent the supervisory appraiser's appearance at the work product meeting.

In order to budget my expenses, what fees am I expected to pay during the entire upgrade process?

The following fees, not counting any renewal fee that may be due, are typically required during the upgrade process.

- Work Product Fee
 - o Residential Trainees \$300
 - General Trainees \$650
- Exam Application Fee \$150
- Examination Fee (Per Test, Paid to Exam Provider) \$145
- Background Check (if required) \$51
- Licensure Fee (Upgrade)
 - o License issued less than 365 days the fee is \$140
 - o License issued 365 or more days the fee is \$280