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Frequently Asked Questions about IREC licensing during the COVID-19 Pandemic and 
Emergency Proclamations in Iowa:  
 

1) I am applying for an Iowa real estate broker or salesperson license and I am unable to get fingerprinted at 
an authorized fingerprint service.  Can I still get licensed? 

 
A:  No.  In Section Seventy-Eight of the Governor's April 30, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency, it 
was stated that Iowans should not expect the suspension of the required background check to be 
extended beyond May 30, 2021.  As anticipated, the May 27, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency is 
silent on the background check suspension/relief; as a result, all real estate broker and salesperson 
applicants shall be subject to a national criminal history check through the federal bureau of investigation 
as required by Iowa Code § 543B.15(9).      

 
To summarize: 

 Your application will not be processed without the fingerprint card/background check.   

 All fees (background check and licensing) will apply.   

 Applicants must answer all questions on the application and disclose any serious misdemeanor 
conviction, aggravated misdemeanor conviction or felony conviction (a conviction of operating while 
intoxicated [OWI] MUST be disclosed).  A "conviction" includes a guilty plea, a deferred judgment 
prior to discharge, and a finding of guilt by a judge or jury.  ALL convictions must be disclosed 
regardless of the date when entered or whether the criminal record has been expunged.  IF IN 
DOUBT - DISCLOSE! 

 
2) I am applying for an Iowa salesperson license and my 60-hour real estate principles and practices course 

completion certificate expired.  Am I eligible to take the real estate examination? 
 

A:  Maybe.  In Section Ninety-Two of the Governor's April 2, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency, it 
was stated that Iowans should not expect the suspension of the provisions in 543B.15(8) to be extended 
beyond May 2, 2021.  As anticipated, the April 30, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency is silent on 
the suspension of the provisions in 543B.15(8); as a result, all 60-hour course completion certificates 
dated after May 2, 2020 do not qualify for any extensions or relief to sit for the Iowa real estate 
salesperson examination.   
 
However, the Commission recognizes that the ongoing COVID-19 health emergency has prevented or 
could prevent applicants from meeting certain deadlines of completing education requirements prior to 
examination and application for initial licensure for a real estate salesperson license and some applicants 
could be eligible to sit for the real estate salesperson examination even though their course completion 
certificate is older than one-year-old. 

     
To summarize: 

 For all 60-hour course completion certificates dated between March 19, 2019 and May 2, 2020, the 
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Commission has granted a six-month extension for examination candidates to sit for the salesperson 
licensing examination (e.g. the course completion certificate dated 03/19/20 can be used to sit for 
the exam and apply for a salesperson license until 09/19/21) and submit a completed application.  
This extension or relief sunsets on November 2, 2021.  

 
3) I am applying for an Iowa broker license and my 72-hour broker prelicense education course completion 

certificates have expired.  Am I eligible to take the real estate examination?   
 

A:  Maybe.  In Section Ninety-Two of the Governor's April 2, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency, it 
was stated that Iowans should not expect the suspension of the provisions in 543B.15(7) to be extended 
beyond May 2, 2021.  As anticipated, the April 30, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency is silent on 
the suspension of the provisions in 543B.15(8); as a result, all 72-hour broker prelicense course 
completion certificates dated after May 2, 2019 do not qualify for any extensions or relief to sit for the 
Iowa real estate broker examination.   
 
However, the Commission recognizes that the ongoing COVID-19 health emergency has prevented or 
could prevent applicants from meeting certain deadlines of completing education requirements prior to 
examination and application for initial licensure for a real estate broker license and some applicants could 
be eligible to sit for the real estate broker examination even though their course completion certificates 
are older than two-years-old. 
 
To summarize: 

 For all 72-hour broker prelicense education course completion certificates dated between March 19, 
2018 and May 2, 2019, the Commission has granted a six-month extension for examination 
candidates to sit for the broker licensing examination (e.g. the course completion certificate dated 
03/19/19 can be used to sit for the exam and apply for a broker license until 09/19/21) and submit a 
completed application.  This extension or relief sunsets on November 2, 2021.  

 
4) My license expired on December 31, 2020.  Do I need to renew? 

 
A:  In Section Forty-Nine of the Governor's June 25, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency, it was 
stated that Iowans should not expect the temporary suspension of administrative rules which apply to 
license renewal during the period of this disaster emergency to be extended beyond July 25, 2021.  As 
anticipated, the July 23, 2021 Proclamation of Disaster Emergency is silent on the temporary suspension 
of administrative rules which apply to license renewal; as a result, all real estate licenses with a December 
31, 2020 expiration date are expired effective July 25, 2021.   
    
To summarize: 

 For all licenses with a December 31, 2020 expiration date, the Commission will process license 
reinstatement applications between July 25, 2021 and December 31, 2023.  

 All reinstatement applications MUST be submitted electronically through licensee’s user accounts at 
"My Iowa PLB".   

 All licensing fees and applicable reinstatement penalties will apply.   

 Thirty-six (36) hours of continuing education are required, but the requirement that only 24 hours can 
be taken via distance education is temporarily suspended for all licenses set to expire on December 
31, 2020.  The thirty-six (36) hours shall comprise of 8 hours of “Law Update”, 4 hours of “Ethics” and 
24 hours of Commission approved electives. 

 For all licensees with an active license as of January 1, 2021 AND for all licensees that continued to 
practice real estate without submitting a renewal application in reliance upon an applicable provision 
of the Governor’s emergency proclamation that the State Public Health Emergency Declaration is 
extended, errors and omissions insurance IS required.  See Iowa Code § 543B.47(1).  Failure of a 
licensee to carry insurance on an uninterrupted basis may by subject to discipline by the Commission.   

 If licensees fail to reinstate their salesperson or broker license on or before December 31, 2023, they 

https://governor.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/documents/PH%20Proclamation%20-%202021.04.02.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery
https://governor.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Public%20Health%20Proclamation%20-%202021.04.30.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery
https://governor.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/documents/COVID%20Disaster%20Proclamation%20-%206.25.2021.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery
https://governor.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Public%20Health%20Proclamation%20-%202021.07.23.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery
https://iowaplb.force.com/IPLB_login
https://plb.iowa.gov/real-estate-sales-brokers/fees



	2021 08 12 IREC FAQ COVID-19.pdf
	20210819121959433.pdf

