

## **IOWA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION**

200 East Grand, Suite 350, Des Moines, IA 50309 https://plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers

# Frequently Asked Questions about IREC licensing during the COVID-19 Pandemic and Emergency Proclamations in Iowa:

1) I am applying for an Iowa real estate broker or salesperson license and I am unable to get fingerprinted at an authorized fingerprint service. Can I still get licensed?

A: Yes. In <u>Section Seventy-Nine</u> of the proclamation continuing the State Public Health Emergency Declaration (March 22, 2020 – April 4, 2021), the provisions in 543B.15(9) are temporarily suspended, and real estate applicants can get licensed without the completion of a background check. The Commission recognizes that the ongoing COVID-19 health emergency has prevented applicants from completing this necessary background check, due to their inability to get fingerprinted at an authorized fingerprinting service.

Upon expiration of the proclaimed disaster emergency, Commission staff will reach out to licensees that are licensed without the completion of a background check and they will be given thirty (30) days to mail in a completed fingerprint card, along with the completed waiver forms. Licensees would have already paid the \$51.00 for the background check, so there will be no additional payments due at that time.

#### To summarize:

- Your application will be processed without the fingerprint card/background check.
- All fees (background check and licensing) will apply.
- Applicants must still answer all questions on the application and disclose any serious misdemeanor
  conviction, aggravated misdemeanor conviction or felony conviction (a conviction of operating while
  intoxicated [OWI] MUST be disclosed). A "conviction" includes a guilty plea, a deferred judgment
  prior to discharge, and a finding of guilt by a judge or jury. ALL convictions must be disclosed
  regardless of the date when entered or whether the criminal record has been expunged. IF IN
  DOUBT DISCLOSE!
- Upon expiration of the proclaimed disaster emergency, applicants will be given thirty (30) days to mail in a completed fingerprint card, along with the completed waiver forms.
- 2) I am applying for an lowa salesperson license and my 60-hour real estate principles and practices course completion certificate expired. Am I eligible to take the real estate examination?

A: Maybe. In Section Ninety-Three of the proclamation continuing the State Public Health Emergency Declaration (March 22, 2020 – April 4, 2021), the provisions in 543B.15(8) are temporarily suspended, and real estate applicants could be eligible to sit for the real estate salesperson examination even though their course completion certificate is older than one-year-old. The IREC's examination administrator, PSI, made the difficult decision to temporarily close their testing centers from March 19<sup>th</sup> until May 1<sup>st</sup>. The Commission recognizes that the ongoing COVID-19 health emergency has prevented or could prevent applicants from meeting certain deadlines of completing education requirements prior to examination and application for initial licensure for a real estate salesperson license.

## To summarize:

- For all 60-hour course completion certificates dated March 19, 2019 or later, the Commission has granted a six-month extension for examination candidates to sit for the salesperson licensing examination (e.g. the course completion certificate dated 03/19/19 can be used to sit for the exam and apply for a salesperson license until 09/19/20) and submit a completed application. The Commission voted to grant this extension or relief until December 31, 2021.
- 3) I am applying for an Iowa broker license and my 72-hour broker prelicense education course completion certificates have expired. Am I eligible to take the real estate examination?

A: Maybe. In Section Ninety-Three of the proclamation continuing the State Public Health Emergency Declaration (March 22, 2020 – April 4, 2021), the provisions in 543B.15(7) are temporarily suspended, and real estate broker applicants could be eligible to sit for the real estate broker examination even though their course completion certificates are older than two-years-old. The IREC's examination administrator, PSI, made the difficult decision to temporarily close their testing centers from March 19<sup>th</sup> until May 1<sup>st</sup>. The Commission recognizes that the ongoing COVID-19 health emergency has prevented or could prevent applicants from meeting certain deadlines of completing education requirements prior to examination and application for initial licensure for a real estate broker license.

#### To summarize:

- For all 72-hour broker prelicense education course completion certificates dated March 19, 2018 or later, the Commission has granted a six-month extension for examination candidates to sit for the broker licensing examination (e.g. the course completion certificate dated 03/19/18 can be used to sit for the exam and apply for a broker license until 09/19/20) and submit a completed application. The Commission voted to grant this extension or relief until December 31, 2021.
- 4) My license expired on December 31, 2020. Do I need to renew?

A: In <u>Section Seventy-Six</u>, Governor Reynolds extends the temporary suspension of administrative rules which apply to license renewal during the period of this disaster emergency. Licensees whose license(s) expires during this emergency period (March 22, 2020 – April 4, 2021) may continue to practice after the license has expired if they are unable to renew their respective license. The renewal period for all real estate licenses that expire on December 31, 2020 began on November 16, 2020. Renewal or reinstatement applications should be available at the time when you licensees log into "My lowa PLB". All applications MUST be submitted electronically through licensee's user accounts at "My lowa PLB".

## To summarize:

- The Commission will process license renewals between November 16, 2020 and December 31, 2020 and licensees are encouraged to renew their active or inactive real estate license(s) through their respective "My lowa PLB" account.
- All <u>licensing fees</u> will apply.
- The State Public Health Emergency Declaration has extended through December 31, 2020. For (late) renewals that take place between January 1, 2021 and January 30, 2021, the \$25.00 late fee will be waived.
- The State Public Health Emergency Declaration has extended through December 31, 2020. If a
  license that is presently scheduled to expire on December 31, 2020 is not renewed by January 30,
  2021, it can be reinstated anytime during the period of the State Public Health Emergency
  Declaration and all reinstatement fees will be waived. Upon expiration of the proclaimed disaster
  emergency, reinstatement fees will be assessed.
- Thirty-six (36) hours of continuing education are required, but the requirement that only 24 hours can be taken via distance education is temporarily suspended for all licenses set to expire on December 31, 2020. The thirty-six (36) hours shall comprise of 8 hours of "Law Update", 4 hours of "Ethics" and

24 hours of Commission approved electives.

- For all licensees with an active license as of January 1, 2021 AND for all licensees that are continuing
  to practice real estate without submitting a renewal application in reliance upon an applicable
  provision of the Governor's emergency proclamation that the State Public Health Emergency
  Declaration is extended through December 31, 2020, errors and omissions insurance IS required. See
  lowa Code § 543B.47(1). Failure of a licensee to carry insurance on an uninterrupted basis may by
  subject to discipline by the Commission.
- 5) My salesperson or broker license is set to expire on December 31, 2020 or December 31, 2021. Can I take all of the required continuing education (36) hours via distance learning?

A: Yes. In <u>Section Seventy-Five</u> of the proclamation continuing the State Public Health Emergency Declaration (March 22, 2020 – April 4, 2021), the provisions in Iowa Code chapter 543B and the provisions in 193E Iowa Administrative Code, the requirements for in-person continuing education requirements are temporarily suspended. The Commission recognizes that the ongoing COVID-19 health emergency has prevented or could prevent licensees from completing the required 12 hours of continuing education that is to be taken via live instruction.

Please click here to review the continuing education requirements.

193E—16.1(543B) Definitions. For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions shall apply:

"Distance learning" means a planned teaching/learning experience with a geographic separation of student and instructor that utilizes a wide spectrum of technology-based systems, including computer-based instruction, to reach learners at a distance. Home-study courses that include written materials, exercises and tests mailed to the provider for review are included in this definition. "Live instruction" means an educational program delivered in a traditional classroom setting or by electronic means whereby the instructor and student have real-time visual and audio contact to carry out their essential tasks.

### To summarize:

- Thirty-six (36) hours of continuing education are required, but the requirement that only 24 hours can be taken via distance education is temporarily suspended for all licenses set to expire on December 31, 2020 and December 31, 2021.
- The thirty-six (36) hours shall comprise of 8 hours of "Law Update", 4 hours of "Ethics" and 24 hours of Commission approved electives.

Please do not hesitate to contact <u>Commission staff</u> at <u>realestatecommission@iowa.gov</u> or (515) 725-9022, Ext. 8 if you have any questions. Also, please be patient as the volume of phone calls and e-mails spike considerably between the time period of November 16<sup>th</sup> – January 31<sup>st</sup>. Many questions may also be answered by visiting the <u>Commission's FAQ page</u>.

Issued this 1st day of April, 2021

IOWA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION:

TERNANCE M. DUGGAN, Chair

Date