## Iowa Interior Design Examining Board 2019 Renewal Information Individual Registration Renewal for biennium July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2021

<u>Cost</u>

	<u>On or before June 30, 2019</u>	<u>July 1 – 30, 2019</u>
Active	\$275	\$300

### **Continuing Education Requirements**

### **Active Status**

- Registered for less than 12 months: No continuing education required.
- Registered more than 12 months but less than 24 months: At least 6 hours, with a minimum of 4 HSW hours
- Registered for 24 months or more: At least 10 public protection (HSW) hours

# All classes must be completed between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2019 (or the date of renewal, whichever is sooner.)

Registered interior designers must demonstrate compliance with 193G – Chapter 3, continuing education as a condition of biennial renewal. Complete rules can be found at <a href="https://www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/chapters?agency=193G">https://www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/chapters?agency=193G</a>.

### **Frequently Asked Questions**

### When do the 10 hours of HSW continuing education need to be completed?

The 10 HSW hours must be completed between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2019 (or the date of renewal, whichever is sooner).

### What are the ways to provide CEU?

- Attest to the number of hours.
- Manually input each course and upload certificate
- Out of state affidavit for non-residents of Iowa who have a mandatory continuing education requirement

### I don't have 10 hours of HSW continuing education. What are my options?

Option 1: You must renew by 11:59 p.m. on June 30, 2019. If you are able, continue to take HSW CE courses and renew by the deadline.

Option 2: Petition the board for additional time to take classes. You must complete the "General -Petition for Waiver from Administrative Rules" application online and submit for review prior to June 30th.

Please be advised that if you renew and do not have 10 hours of HSW continuing education, you may face disciplinary action, including public discipline, a civil penalty between \$50 and \$250, and additional continuing education hours equal to double the deficiency in addition to the required hours.