
Broker by exam: 
You must have a current Iowa salesperson license, active or inactive, or expired for less than 3 years. 

• 9 course completion certificates, each for 8-hours covering: 
1. Real Estate Office Organization 
2. Real Estate Office Administration 
3. Human Resources Management 
4. Contract Law & Contract Writing 
5. Iowa Real Estate Trust Accounts 
6. Principles of Appraising & Market Analysis 
7. Real Estate Law and Agency Law 
8. Real Estate Finance 
9. Federal & State Laws Affecting Iowa Practice 

• State portion of exam pass notice - valid until that last working day of the 6th month following the date of 
the exam 

• National portion of exam pass notice - valid until that last working day of the 6th month following the date of 
the exam 

• Proof of current E & O insurance for Iowa 
• $170 fee 
• If background is completed it can’t be more than 210 calendar days  

If applying for an “officer” license you must provide legal proof that you are a member, officer or partner of the 
company.  That could be a copy of the articles of incorporation (or organization), certified copy of board meeting 
minutes where applicant was voted in to be an officer, etc. 
  
If the company you are to be licensed to is not yet licensed in Iowa then your Iowa salesperson license must first be 
made inactive.  Once your salesperson license is inactive then you can submit your broker application along with your 
new firm application. 
 
Broker by Rule 5.3: 

• Have a current Iowa salesperson license 
• Copy of authorization letter from us to take to take the exam based on your license in another state. 
• State portion of exam pass notice - valid until the last working day of the 6th month following the date of 

the exam. 
• National portion of exam pass notice - valid until the last working day of the 6th month following the date of 

the exam. 
• Proof of current E & O insurance for Iowa 
• $170 fee 
• If background is completed it can’t be more than 210 calendar days 

If applying for an “officer” license you must provide legal proof that you are a member, officer or partner of the 
company.  That could be a copy of the articles of incorporation (or organization), certified copy of board meeting 
minutes where applicant was voted in to be an officer, etc. 
  
If the company you are to be licensed to is not yet licensed in Iowa then your Iowa salesperson license must first be 
made inactive.  Once your salesperson license is inactive then you can submit your broker application along with your 
new firm application. 
 
Broker by reciprocity: 

• Have a current Iowa salesperson license 
• Certification of Licensure (License History) from the real estate commission of the your home 

state.  You must be a resident of a state that Iowa has a reciprocity agreement with.  Those states are: AR, 
GA, LA, MA, MN, MS, ND, and WV.   You must have received your original license in that state, and you 
are getting your Iowa license exactly as it is in your home state, including to the same company.  The 
license history must be less than 6 months old. 

• Proof of current E & O insurance for Iowa 
• $170 fee 
• If background is completed it can’t be more than 210 calendar days 

If applying for an “officer” license you must provide legal proof that you are a member, officer or partner of the 
company.  That could be a copy of the articles of incorporation (or organization), certified copy of board meeting 
minutes where applicant was voted in to be an officer, etc. 
  
If the company you are to be licensed to is not yet licensed in Iowa then your Iowa salesperson license must first be 
made inactive.  Once your salesperson license is inactive then you can submit your broker application along with your 
new firm application. 


