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Questions About Application for License 
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IOWA EXAMINATION PROCEDURE CHECKLIST 

 
Before registering for an examination, make sure that you have reviewed the following checklist.  
 
 
Prepare for your examination(s): 
 

 Use the examination content outline provided in this bulletin as the basis of your study (see page 3).  

 
Schedule for your examination(s): 
 

 Via the internet at https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare or 

 Call (855) 898-0712. 

 
Each examination registration expires after 90 days.  You MUST take the examination within 90 days of registration. 

 
Take your examination(s): 
 
Bring one of the following original items to the Examination Center (required): 
 

 Prelicense Education Completion Certificate (must be a paper copy); or 

 If you have a waiver, the letter of authorization from the Commission; or 

 If you plan to apply under 193E—5.3(543B) or on the basis of previous experience, a letter of authorization from the 
Commission. 
 
DO NOT REGISTER FOR THE EXAMINATION UNLESS YOU HAVE OBTAINED ONE OF THE ABOVE ORIGINAL ITEMS 

 

 Must bring one form of identification which bear your signature and have your photograph.  

Your name as shown on the application form must exactly match the name on the photo I.D. used when checking in at the 

examination site. 

 Arrive 30 minutes prior to appointment. 
 
After your examination(s): 
 

 Upon passing the examination, submit the required documents and fee to the Iowa Real Estate Commission. 

 

Note: If you have questions regarding the license application, please contact the Commission at (515) 725-9022, or email: 

realestatecommission@iowa.gov

mailto:realestatecommission@iowa.gov
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EXAMINATIONS BY PSI SERVICES LLC 

 

The Commission has contracted with PSI Services LLC (PSI) to 

conduct its examination program.  PSI will provide 

computerized examinations through a network of testing 

centers.  PSI works closely with the Real Estate Commission 

and its Examination Review Commission to be certain that 

examinations meet state requirements and test development 

standards.  Our real estate examination program has been 

awarded certification by the Association of Real Estate 

License Law Officials (ARELLO).  All questions and requests 

for information about examinations should be directed to:  

 

PSI  
3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 
 (855) 898-0712 

https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare 
examschedule@psionline.com 

 

Questions about applications for licensure should be directed 

to the: 

IOWA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
200 E. Grand, Ste. 350 
Des Moines, IA 50309 

(515) 725-9022 

 realestatecommission@iowa.gov 

https://plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers 

 

LICENSING QUALIFICATIONS 

 

This bulletin provides you with information about the license 

examination and application process for becoming licensed as 

either a real estate salesperson or real estate broker in the 

state of Iowa.  The Iowa Real Estate Commission is authorized 

by Chapter 543B, Code of Iowa, to qualify individuals who 

wish to operate as real estate salespersons or brokers as 

defined by Iowa statues.  To be licensed, you must pass an 

examination to confirm that you have attained at least a 

minimum level of knowledge regarding the statutes and 

regulations affecting the real estate profession.  After passing 

this examination, you must apply to the Iowa Real Estate 

Commission to obtain a license.  Once the Commission has 

verified that you have met all of the requirements for 

licensure (detailed below), the Commission will issue the 

appropriate license.  In order to qualify for an Iowa real 

estate license, you must 

1. Be a person 18 years of age or over.  (You may actually 

sit for the exam before you are 18 but you must be 18 

before you make application for a license, which must be 

within six months after you pass the exam.) 

2. Be a person whose application has not been rejected for 

licensure in this or any other state within twelve months 

prior to the date of application, and whose real estate 

license has not been revoked in this or any other state 

within two years prior to date of application. 

In addition: 

Applicants for the Salesperson Examination must 

successfully complete the Commission-approved 60-hour pre-

license course in real estate education during the 12 months 

prior to taking the salesperson examination.  A list of schools 

is available from the Iowa Real Estate Commission.  (Go to 

https://plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers and 

click on “Education Index”.) 

Applicants for the Broker Examination must successfully 

complete 60 hours of Commission-approved Broker pre-

license education within 24 months prior to taking the broker 

examination. Further, a broker applicant must be a licensed 

real estate salesperson actively engaged in real estate for a 

period of at least 24 months preceding the date of 

application. 

 

NONRESIDENT LICENSES 

 

A nonresident of Iowa may be licensed as a real estate broker 

or salesperson upon complying with the requirements, as 

provided in section 543B.15, Code of Iowa, and 193E—5.3.  

The applicant must also provide the Real Estate Commission 

with certification from the state of original licensure that the 

applicant is currently licensed in that state, that no charges 

against the applicant are currently pending, and that the 

applicant’s record in that state justifies the issuance of a 

license in Iowa.  The Commission may waive the requirement 

of an examination in the case of a nonresident broker who is 

licensed in a state whose laws have similar requirements and 

where similar recognition and courtesies (called reciprocity) 

are extended to real estate brokers and salespersons licensed 

in Iowa.  Contact the Iowa Real Estate Commission for further 

details and procedures for nonresident licensure. 

 

IOWA PORTION EXAMINATIONS 

 

Iowa Real Estate Commission Rules and Regulations 193E—5.3 

(543B) stipulates that individuals who are licensed by 

examination as real estate salespersons or brokers in states 

which do not have a reciprocity agreement with Iowa must 

pass an Iowa state portion examination to be issued a 

comparable Iowa license.  The state portion examination is 

limited to Iowa real estate laws and practices.  In order to 

qualify to take this examination, you must contact the 

Commission to receive a letter of authorization.  That letter 

must be shown at the examination center on the day of the 

examination.  (There will be no exceptions). 

 

 

mailto:realestatecommission@iowa.gov
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers__;!!ARYYNK37dQ!AU9ptGsI79mzmoofWx0y9fRESGFfw3wXCIcTToP0oo8E53pfYveoAp7n9WVseUk$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers__;!!ARYYNK37dQ!A6DryOBlrWtjQiI4Mz7kybVRS1dFOohtWnRcQX_QESIy-KRYC-qZGSuoqx5feUE$
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR LICENSE QUALIFICATION 

 

To make the license qualification process go as smoothly as 

possible, be certain that you follow through on: 

1. PREPARATION: 

Prepare yourself for the examination by using the exam 

outline in this bulletin and the suggested study materials 

that cover the outline topics. 

2. REGISTRATION: 

Mail your exam registration at least two weeks before 

you want to take the exam.  Be sure that the registration 

form is complete and accurate, and that you include the 

correct fees.  If incorrect, the form and the fees will be 

returned to you unprocessed. 

3. CANCELLATION: 

Read and understand the exam registration expiration 

and cancellation provisions. 

4. IDENTIFICATION: 

Take the exam on the day you have scheduled.  Be sure 

to bring proper identification. 

5. APPLICATION: 

After you have passed your examination, send your 

license application form, any other required information, 

and the correct fees to the Iowa Real Estate Commission 

no later than the last business day of the sixth month 

following the qualifying examination date.  Filing 

deadlines are ABSOLUTE. 

 

EXAMINATION STUDY MATERIALS  

 

The following is a list of possible study materials for the real 
estate examinations.  The list is given to identify resources 
and does not constitute an endorsement by PSI or by the 
State Real Estate Commission.  Use the latest edition 
available. 
 

NATIONAL PORTION OF THE EXAMINATION 

▪ Modern Real Estate Practice, 21st Edition, Galaty, 

Allaway, Kyle, and Williams, Dearborn Real Estate 

Education, www.dearborn.com, ISBN: 978-1-0788-1887-2 

▪ Mastering Real Estate Math, 9th Edition, 2022, Denise 

Evans www.dearborn.com  ISBN: 9781078819008  

▪ The Language of Real Estate, 8th Edition, 2019, Reilly 

and Spodek, Dearborn Real Estate Education, 

www.dearborn.com 

▪ Property Management, 11th edition, 2016, Kyle, Robert 

C., Baird, Floyd M. and Kyle, C. Donald, Chicago: 

Dearborn Real Estate Education www.dearborn.com 

▪ Real Estate Law, 11th Edition, 2022, Elliot Klayman, 

Dearborn Real Estate Education www.dearborn.com  

▪ Real Estate Fundamentals, 10th Edition, 2019, Gaddy, 

Hart, Spodek, Dearborn Real Estate 

Education,www.dearborn.com 

▪ Real Estate Principles, 12th Edition, Charles Jacobus, 

OnCourse Publishing, N19W24075 Riverwood Drive, Suite 

200, Waukesha, WI 53188, 855-733-7239, 

www.oncoursepublishing.com ISBN 1285420985  

▪ Real Estate Principles, 12th Edition, 2021, Floyd and 

Allen, Dearborn Real Estate 

Education,www.dearborn.com 

▪ Mastering Real Estate Principles, 8th Edition, 2022, 

Gerald Cortesi  

▪ Real Estate Principles & Practices, 9th Edition, 2014, 

Arlyne Geschwender, OnCourse Publishing, N19W24075 

Riverwood Drive, Suite 200, Waukesha, WI 53188, 855- 

733-7239, www.oncoursepublishing.com ISBN 0324784554  

▪ Principles of Real Estate Practice, 6th edition, 2019, 

Mettling, Stephen and Cusic, David, Performance 

Programs Company, 

www.performanceprogramscompnay.com  
 

STATE PORTION FOR IOWA LAWS, RULES, AND 

REGULATIONS 

▪ Iowa Code Chapter 543B 

▪ Iowa Administrative Code Chapter 193E (Rules of the 

Iowa Real Estate Commission) 

▪ Iowa Fair Housing Guide 

 

TYPES OF EXAMINATIONS GIVEN  

 

The following are the examinations offered by PSI Services 

LLC: 

• Salesperson Examination 

• Broker Examination 

• Iowa Portion Only/Salesperson Examination 

• Iowa Portion Only/ Broker Examination 

Note:  Prior written authorization to take the Iowa portion 

only examinations MUST be received from the Iowa Real 

Estate Commission and will be required at the examination 

center.  

 

Now you can take the practice exam online at https://test-
takers.psiexams.com/iare to prepare for your Iowa Real Estate 

Examination. 
 
Please note that practice exams are intended only to help testing 
candidates become familiar with the general types of questions that 
will appear on a licensing examination. They ARE NOT a substitute 
for proper education and study.  Furthermore, scoring well on the 
practice exam does not guarantee a positive outcome on an actual 
licensing examination. 
 
Note:  You may take the practice exams an unlimited number of 
times. However, you will need to pay each time. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.dearborn.com/
http://www.performanceprogramscompnay.com/
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TIPS FOR PREPARING FOR YOUR LICENSE 
EXAMINATION 

 

The following suggestions will help you prepare for your 

license examination. Planned individual preparation in 

addition to the required classroom hours increases your 

likelihood of passing. 

• Start with a current copy of the Licensing 

Information Bulletin. 

• Use the exam content outline as the basis of your 

study.  The outline itself is a study tool because it 

can familiarize you with the real estate terms. 

• Learn the major points associated with each outline 

topic.   Major points include definition, use, and 

eligibility. 

• Select study materials and courses that cover all the 

topics in the content outline. 

• Take notes on what you study.  Putting information 

in writing helps you commit it to memory—and it is 

also an excellent business practice.  Underline or 

highlight key ideas that will help with a later review. 

• Read the study materials, making sure you 

understand each item before going on to another. 

Underline or highlight key ideas that will help with a 

later review. 

• Check each topic off the outline when you feel you 

have an adequate understanding.  Plan to take your 

examination when all topics have been checked. 

• Discuss new terms or concepts as frequently as you 

can with colleagues.  This will test your 

understanding and reinforce ideas. 

• Your studies will be most effective if you study 

frequently, for periods of about 45 to 60 minutes.  

Concentration tends to wander when you study for 

longer periods of time. 

 

DESCRIPTION OF EXAMINATIONS & 
EXAMINATION CONTENT OUTLINES 

 

The Examination Content Outlines have been approved by the 

Iowa Real Estate Commission.  These outlines reflect the 

minimum knowledge required by the real estate professionals 

to perform their duties to the public in a competent and 

responsible manner.  Changes in the examination content will 

be preceded by changes in these published examination 

content outlines. 

 

Use the outlines as the basis of your study.  The outlines list 

all of the topics that are on the examination and the 

weightings for each topic.  Do not schedule your examination 

until you are familiar with all topics in the outlines.   

 

 

 

For national broker exams, scenario-based test questions are 

included to contain more than four options and ONLY ONE 

BEST option shall be selected to answer the question. Some 

options are appropriate but not the BEST ANSWER. Please 

select the option that best answers the question in the exam. 

A BEST ANSWER reflects the optimal solution or most 

complete resolution to the scenario presented in the 

question. These items are associated with scenarios 

presented in the form of text, graphs, or tables representing 

a situation in which candidates must identify the best course 

of action by selecting only one option. Each option is 

weighted as zero-point, one-point, or two-points based on 

the completeness and accuracy of the solution.  Sample 

questions are provided. 

  

The Examination Summary Table below shows the number of 

questions and the time allowed for each exam portion. 

 
EXAMINATION SUMMARY TABLE 

 

Examination Portion 
# of Questions 

(Points) 
Passing 
Score 

Time 
Allowed 

Salesperson National 80 (80 points) 56 120 minutes 

 State 40 (40 points) 28 60 minutes 

 Both 120 (120 points) 84 180 minutes 

Broker * National 75 (80 points) 60 120 minutes 

 State 40 (40 points) 30 60 minutes 

 Both 115 (120 points) 90 180 minutes 

Note: National broker exams include questions that are scored up to 
two points. 

 

EXPERIMENTAL QUESTIONS 

 
In addition to the number of examination items specified in 
the "Examination Content Outlines", a small number (5 to 10) 
of "experimental" questions may be administered to 
candidates during the examinations. These questions will not 
be scored. However, these questions will count against 
examination time. The administration of such unscored, 
experimental questions is an essential step in developing 
future licensing examinations.  
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National Portion 

 
(REAL ESTATE PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICES) 

CONTENT OUTLINE  
 

I. Property Ownership (Sales 10%, Broker 10%) 

A. Real and personal property; conveyances 

B. Land characteristics and legal descriptions 

1. Metes and bounds method of legal property 
description 

2. Lot and block (recorded plat) method of legal property 
description 

3. Government survey (rectangular survey) method of 
legal property description 

4. Measuring structures (linear and square footage) 

5. Land measurement 

C. Encumbrances and effects on property ownership 

1. Types of liens and their effect on the title and value 
of real property 

2. Easements, rights of way and licenses, including their 
effect on the title, value and use of real property 

3. Encroachments and their effect on the title, value and 
use of real property 

4. Potential encumbrances on title, such as probate, 
leases, or adverse possession 

5. Property rights that may be conveyed separately from 
use of the land surface, such as mineral and other 
subsurface rights, air rights, or water rights 

D. Types of ownership 

1. Ownership in severalty/sole ownership 

2. Implications of ownership as tenants in common 

3. Implications of ownership in joint tenancy 

4. Forms of common-interest ownership, such as 
Timeshares, Condominiums and Co-ops 

5. Property ownership held in a trust or by an estate 

6. Ownership by business entities 

7. Life Estate ownership 

II. Land use Controls (Sales 5%, Broker 5%) 

A. Government rights in land 

1. Government rights to impose property taxes and 
special assessments 

2. Government rights to acquire land through eminent 
domain, condemnation and escheat 

B. Government controls on land use 

C. Private controls 

1. Deed conditions or restrictions on property use 

2. Subdivision covenants, conditions and restrictions 
(CC&Rs) on property use 

3. Condominium and owners’ associations regulations or 
bylaws on property use 

III. Valuation (Sales 8%, Broker 8%) 

A. Appraisals 

1. Appraisals for valuation of real property 

2. Situations which require appraisal by a licensed or 
certified appraiser and brokerage-related actions that 
constitute unauthorized appraisal practice 

3. General steps in appraisal process 

B. Estimating Value 

1. Economic principles and property characteristics that 
affect value of real property 

2. Sales or market comparison approach to property 
valuation and appropriate uses 

3. Cost approach to property valuation and appropriate 
uses 

4. Income analysis approach to property valuation and 
appropriate uses 

C. Comparative Market Analysis (CMA) 

1. Competitive/Comparative Market Analysis (CMA), BPO 
or equivalent 

2. Automated Valuation Method (AVM), appraisal 
valuation and Comparative Market Analysis (CMA) 

IV. Financing (Sales 10%, Broker 9%) 

A. Basic Concepts and Terminology 

1. Loan financing (for example, points, LTV, PMI, 
interest, PITI) 

2. General underwriting process (e.g., debt ratios, credit 
scoring and history) 

3. Standard mortgage/deed of trust clauses and 
conditions 

4. Essential elements of a promissory note 

B. Types of Loans 

1. Conventional loans 

2. Amortized loans, partially amortized (balloon) loans, 
interest-only loans 

3. Adjustable-rate mortgage (ARM) loans 

4. Government Loans 

a. FHA insured loans 

b. VA guaranteed loans 

c. USDA/Rural Development loan programs 

5. Owner financing (for example, installment or 
land contract/contract for deed) 

6. Reverse-mortgage loans 

7. Home equity loans and lines of credit 

8. Construction loans 

9. Rehab loans 

10. Bridge loans 

C. Financing and Lending 

1. Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA), 
including kickbacks 

2. Truth-in-Lending Act (Regulation Z), including 
advertising 

3. Requirements and time frames of TRID (TILA-RESPA 
Integrated Disclosures) 

4. Equal Credit Opportunity Act 

5. Lending Process (application through loan closing) 

6. Risky loan features, such as prepayment penalties and 
balloon payments 

V. Contracts (Sales 19%, Broker 19%) 

A. General Contract Law 

1. General principles of contract law 

2. Elements necessary for a contract to be valid 

3. Effect of the Statute of Frauds 
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4. Offer and a contract 

5. Enforceability of contracts 

6. Void, voidable and unenforceable contracts 

7. Bilateral and unilateral contracts 

8. Nature and use of option agreements 

9. Notice, delivery, acceptance and execution of 
contracts 

10. Appropriate use, risks, and advantages of electronic 
signatures and paperless transactions 

11. Rights and obligations of the parties to a contract 

12. Possible remedies for breach or non-performance of 
contract 

13. Termination, rescission and cancellation of contracts 

B. Purchase and Lease Contracts 

1. Addenda and amendments to contracts 

2. Purchase agreements 

3. Contract contingencies and methods for satisfying 
them 

4. Leases and rental agreements 

5. Lease-purchase agreements 

6. Types of leases 

C. Proper handling of multiple offers and 
counteroffers 

VI. Agency (Sales 13%, Broker 13%) 

A. Agency and non-agency relationships 

1. Agency relationships and how they are established 

2. Types of listing contracts 

3. Buyer brokerage/tenant representation contracts 

4. Other brokerage relationships, including transaction 
brokers and facilitators 

5. Powers of attorney and other assignments of authority 

6. Conditions for termination of agency or brokerage 
service agreements 

B. Agent Duties 

1. Fiduciary duties of agents 

2. Agent's duties to customers/non-clients, including 
honesty and good faith 

C. Agency Disclosures 

1. Disclosure of agency/representation 

2. Disclosure of possible conflict of interest or self-
interest 

VII. Property Disclosures (Sales 7%, Broker 7%) 

A.  Property Condition 

1. Seller's property condition disclosure requirements 

2. Property conditions that may warrant inspections or a 
survey 

3. Red flags that warrant investigation of public or 
private land use controls 

B.  Environmental and Government Disclosures 

1. Environmental issues requiring disclosure 

2. Federal, state, or local disclosure requirements 
regarding the property 

C.  Disclosure of material facts and material defects 

VIII. Property Management (Sales 3%, Broker 5%) 

A. Duties and Responsibilities 

1. Procurement and qualification of prospective tenants 

2. Fair housing and ADA compliance specific to property 
management 

3. How to complete a market analysis to identify factors 
in setting rents or lease rates 

4. Property manager responsibility for maintenance, 
improvements, reporting and risk management 
(BROKER ONLY) 

5. Handling landlord and tenant funds; trust accounts, 
reports and disbursements (BROKER ONLY) 

6. Provisions of property management contracts (BROKER 
ONLY) 

B. Landlord and tenant rights and obligations 

IX. Transfer of Title (Sales 6%, Broker 6%) 

A. Types of deeds 

B. Title Insurance and Searches 

1. Title insurance policies and title searches 

2. Potential title problems and resolutions 

3. Marketable and insurable title 

C. Closing Process 

1. When transfer of ownership becomes effective 

2. Process and importance of recordation 

3. Settlement procedures (closing) and parties involved 

4. Home and new construction warranties 

D. Special Processes 

1. Special issues in transferring foreclosed properties 

2. Special issues in short sale transactions 

3. Special issues in probate transactions 

X. Practice of Real Estate (Sales 12%, Broker 12%) 

A. Antidiscrimination 

1. Federal Fair Housing Act general principles and 
exemptions 

2. Protected classes under Federal Fair Housing Act 

3. Protections against discrimination based on gender 
identity and sexual orientation 

4. Prohibited conduct under Federal Fair Housing Act 
(Redlining, Blockbusting, Steering, Disparate 
Treatment) 

5. Fair housing advertising rules 

6. Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) obligations 
pertaining to accessibility and reasonable 
accommodations 

B. Legislation and Regulations 

1. Licensees’ status as employees or independent 
contractors 

2. Antitrust laws and types of violations, fines and 
penalties 

3. Do-Not-Call List rule compliance 

4. Proper use of Social Media and Internet 
communication and advertising 

C. Duties and Responsibilities 

1. Protection of confidential personal information 
(written, verbal or electronic) 
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2. Duties when handling funds of others in transactions 

3. Licensee responsibility for due diligence in real estate 
transactions 

D. Supervisory Responsibilities (BROKER ONLY) 

1. Broker's supervisory responsibilities (licensees, teams and 
unlicensed assistants and employees) (BROKER ONLY) 

2. Broker relationship with licensees (employees or 
independent contractors and governing rules) (BROKER 
ONLY) 

XI. Real Estate Calculations (Sales 7%, Broker 6%) 

A. Calculations for Transactions 

1. Seller’s net proceeds 

2. Buyer funds needed at closing 

3. Real property tax and other prorations 

4. Real property transfer fees 

5. PITI (Principal, Interest, Taxes and Insurance) 
payments estimate given loan rate and term 

B. General Concepts 

1. Equity 

2. Rate of return/Capitalization rate 

3. Loan-to-Value ratio 

4. Discount points and loan origination fees 

 
 

State Portion 

 
State Real Estate Laws and Commission Rules includes a 
knowledge of state legislation as outlined in The Code of Iowa 
(Chapter 543B) and Iowa Administrative Code (193E) dealing 
with real estate licensing.  Also included is a knowledge of 
legislation and rules governing transfer taxes, property taxes, 
and fair housing. 
 

 
Topic Area 

Sales-
person 
Items 

Broker 
Items 

Licensing Requirements 2 2 

License Maintenance 3 4 

Disciplinary Actions – Suspension, 
Revocation and Voluntary Compliance 

4 4 

Real Estate Education 3 2 

Trust Accounts 3 4 

Contracts 7 5 

Agency 6 4 

Prop Disclosure Requirements 5 3 

Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965 1 1 

Unlicensed Assistants 2 2 

Broker Responsibilities 2 6 

Property Management 2 3 

 

SAMPLE QUESTIONS  
 
The following questions are offered as examples of the types of 
questions you will be asked during the course of the National 
Real Estate Broker and Salesperson examinations.  They are 
intended primarily to familiarize you with the style and format 
of questions you can expect to find in the examinations.  The 
examples do NOT represent the full range of content or 

difficulty levels found in the actual examinations. 

 
SAMPLE QUESTIONS 

A. Which of the following interests in property is held by a 
person who is granted a lifetime use of a property that 
will be transferred to a third party upon the death of the 
lifetime user? 

 1. A life estate. 
 2. A remainder estate. 
 3. An estate for years. 
 4. A reversionary estate. 
 
B. Which of the following statements BEST identifies the 

meaning of the term, “rescission of a contract”? 

 1. A ratification of a contract by all parties. 
 2. A return of all parties to their condition before the 

contract was executed. 
 3. A transfer or assignment of a particular responsibility 

from one of the parties to another. 
 4. A review of the contract by the legal counsel of either 

party that may result in a cancellation without 
penalty or further obligation. 

C. Which of the following clauses in a mortgage allows the 
lender to demand loan repayment if a borrower sells the 
property? 

 1. Defeasance 
 2. Prepayment 
 3. Acceleration 
 4. Alienation 

 
D. How much cash MUST a buyer furnish in addition to a 

$2,500 deposit if the lending institution grants a 90% loan 
on an $80,000 property? 

 1. $5,500. 
 2. $6,975. 
 3. $7,450. 
 4. None of the above. 
E. Which of the following single-family residences would 

get the MOST accurate appraisal by applying the 
reproduction cost approach to value? 

 1. A rental property. 
 2. A vacant property. 
 3. A new property. 
 4. An historic property. 
 

Answers to Sample Broker Questions: 
         A: 1; B: 2; C: 4; D: 1; E: 4 

 
 
SAMPLE BROKER QUESTIONS (SCENARIO-BASED) 
 
PSI National Real Estate Broker Examination Instruction 
 
IMPORTANT 
 
Test questions appear on the screen ONE AT A TIME. A 
question may have an associated graphic displayed on the 
screen, or it may direct the candidate to reference material, 
such as a chart or diagram.   
 
Each question may contain up to EIGHT options and ONLY ONE 
BEST option shall be selected to answer the question. Some 
options are appropriate but NOT the BEST ANSWER. Please 
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select the option that best answers the question in the exam. 
A BEST ANSWER reflects the optimal solution or most complete 
resolution to the scenario presented in the question. 
 
Scenario:  
 
You are hosting an open house. Mr. and Mrs. Charles Martin 
come into the house. You greet them and show them the 
house. The Martins tell you the house is exactly what they are 
looking for and they are very interested in purchasing it. You 
then give them information showing the various types of 
financing available with down payment options and projected 
payments.   
 
Mr. Martin tells you they have been working with Mary 
Hempstead of XX Realty, a competing real estate company. 
Before leaving, you thank them for coming and give them 
your business card.  
  
A. The first thing on Monday morning, Mrs. Martin calls and 

indicates they have tried to reach Mary and cannot. They 
indicate they have a written buyer’s agent agreement 
with Mary’s broker. They are afraid someone else is going 
to buy the house. Which of the following should you do? 
Select the best answer. 
  
1. Seek advice from your supervising broker.    
2. Tell them to come to your office.   
3. Ask them to bring the buyer’s agency agreement to 

you for your interpretation.   
4. Tell them to be patient and continue trying to reach 

Mary.   
5. Tell them to call Mary’s supervising broker or branch 

manager.   
6. Tell them you are really sorry, but there is nothing 

you can do.   
  

B. The Martins come to your office and explain that neither 
Mary nor her supervising broker are available. They insist 
you immediately write an offer for the house. How 
should you proceed? Select the best answer.  
1. Write the offer after entering into a buyer’s broker 

agreement with them.   
2. Write the offer after explaining they may owe Mary’s 

broker a commission.   
3. Write the offer after trying to contact Mary’s broker 

yourself.   
4. Refuse to write an offer and explain that doing so 

would be unethical.   
5. Refuse to write and offer since it would be illegal.   
6. Refuse to write the offer and tell the Martins to 

contact another Broker in Mary’s office.  
 
Answers (Points) to Sample Principal Broker Questions: 
 
A. 1 (2 points), 2 (1 point), 3 (0 point)  
    4 (0 point), 5 (1 point) , 6 (0 point) 
 
B. 1 (1 point), 2 (2 points), 3 (1 point) 
    4 (0 point), 5 (0 point) , 6 (0 point)
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 EXAMINATION SCHEDULING PROCEDURES 

  
Examination Fee  $95.00 

NOTE:  EXAMINATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE OR TRANSFERABLE. 

 

 
For the fastest and most convenient examination scheduling process, register for your examinations online by accessing PSI’s 
registration Website: (https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare) 
 
Select Sign In/Create Account 

 
You will be prompted to CREATE AN 
ACCOUNT with PSI.  

The first and last name 
must match exactly 
with your current, 
valid, government-
issued ID. 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Select your test format: (Test Center) or (Remote Proctored). 
 
 
 
 

https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare
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Scheduling at a Test Center 
 
Enter the “City or Postal Code” and select FIND. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

 

 

 

Select a date and time to book an appointment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
You are now ready to pay. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Once payment has been made you will receive a message confirming the test center, booked date, and booked time. 
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Scheduling via Remote Proctor 
 

Select a date and time to book an appointment. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
You are now ready to pay. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Once payment has been made you will receive a message confirming the booked date and booked time. Please review the booking 
before selecting CONFIRM. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Your booking will now display in your account.  You will be able to LAUNCH your test within 30 minutes of your booked test time. 
 
 
IMPORTANT:  BE SURE TO CHECK THE 
COMPATIBILTY OF YOUR COMPUTER to 
include Audio/Video Check, Webcam 
Check and System Check.  Prior to 
testing, CLICK HERE. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
By not starting your test within 15 minutes after your booked time, you forfeit your test fee or test eligibility. Fees and test 
eligibilities are non-refundable. If you have any questions regarding your compatibility check, or if you experience issues launching 
your test, you may contact PSI’s technical support team at (844) 267-1017.  
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TELEPHONE REGISTRATION 

PSI registrars are available at (855) 898-0712 to receive payment and to schedule your appointment for the examination.  Please call 
Monday through Friday between 6:30 am and 9:00 pm, and Saturday-Sunday between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm, Central Time. 
 
To register by phone, you will need a valid credit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express or Discover.) 

 
EXAM ACCOMMODATIONS 
All PSI examination centers are equipped to provide access in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, 

and exam accommodations will be made in meeting a candidate's needs.  Applicants with disabilities or those who would otherwise 

have difficulty taking the examination should request for alternative arrangements by Clicking Here.   

 
REGISTRATION EXPIRATION 
After registering for an examination, you must take that exam within 90 days or forfeit the registration fee.  Your Registration 

Confirmation Notice will contain your expiration date.  If you fail to take an exam during the 90 days, you will need to re-apply and 

pay another registration fee.  NOTE: You must TAKE the exam within 90 days and not just schedule for one.  If you have not 

scheduled an exam by the 80th day, you will run the risk of not being able to take the exam by the 90th day due to weekends, 

holidays, or non-testing days.  The 90-day period is intended to accommodate emergencies that may arise soon after 

registering for an exam.  It is advisable that you schedule your appointment soon after receiving your confirmation notice. 

 
SCHEDULING AN APPOINTMENT  
You are responsible for making an appointment to take the examination.  PSI will make every effort to schedule the examination 

center location and time that is most convenient for you.  

 
CANCELING AN APPOINTMENT  
You may cancel and reschedule an appointment with no penalty, if your cancellation notice is received 2 days before the 

scheduled examination date.  (For example, for a Monday appointment, the cancellation notice would need to be received on the 

previous Saturday.) 

Note:  A voice mail message is not an acceptable form of cancellation.  Please use the PSI website or call PSI and speak to a 
Customer Service Representative.  

 
SCHEDULING A RE-EXAMINATION  
It is not possible to make a new examination appointment on the same day you have taken an examination; this is due to processing 

and reporting scores. A candidate who tests unsuccessfully on a Wednesday can call the next day, Thursday, and retest as soon as 

Friday, depending upon space availability.  You may access a registration form at https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare.  You may 

also call PSI at (855) 898-0712.   

 
MISSED APPOINTMENT OR LATE CANCELLATION 
Your registration will be invalid, and you will not be able to take the examination if you: 

• cancel your appointment with less than 2 days’ notice: or 

• do not appear for appointment; or 

• arrive too late to begin your examination without disrupting the center’s schedule (usually more than 15 minutes late); or 

• do not present proper identification and pre-license education documents when you arrive for the examination (see “Required 
Identification”); or 

• do not schedule and take your examination prior to the last business day of the 90-day registration expiration period. 

EMERGENCY EXAMINATION CENTER CLOSING 
In the event that severe weather or another emergency forces the closure of an examination center on a scheduled examination 

date, your examination will be rescheduled. You will be contacted in this situation; however, you may check the status of your 

examination schedule by calling (855) 898-0712.  Every effort will be made to reschedule your examination at a convenient time as 

soon as possible. You may also check our website at https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare. 

 

 

 

 

https://psi-cdexp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=360000150872
https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare
https://test-takers.psiexams.com/iare
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EXAMINATION CENTER LOCATIONS 

 

Council Bluffs 
1705 McPherson, Suite 300 
Council Bluffs, IA  51503 

West Des Moines 
950 Office Park Rd, Suite 212 
West Des Moines, IA  50265 

Cedar Rapids/Iowa City Area 
Erbs Business Center 

4935 Bowling Street SW, Suite C 
Cedar Rapids, IA  52404 

Waterloo - Hawkeye Community Colleg 
501 East Orange Rd 
Waterloo, IA 50704 

 

Additionally, PSI has examination centers in many other regions across the United States.  You may take the written examination at 

any of these locations by filling out the alternative arrangements form at Click Here. 

 

REPORTING TO THE EXAMINATION CENTER 

 

On the day of your scheduled examination, you should arrive at least 30 minutes before your appointment.  This extra time is for 

sign-in and identification and familiarizing you with the test process.  If you arrive late, you may not be admitted to the 

examination center and you will forfeit your registration fee. 

REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION  

You must provide 1 form of identification. The identification must match the name you scheduled with.  

 
NOTE:  ID must contain candidate’s signature, photo, be valid and unexpired. 

 State issued driver’s license 

 State issued identification card 

 US Government Issued Passport 

 US Government Issued Military Identification Card 

 US Government Issued Alien Registration Card 

 Canadian Government Issued ID 

  

One of the following items is to be shown at the examination center on the test day and is to be retained and submitted with the 

application for licensure.  There are no exceptions, all candidates testing must comply with one of the following. 

You must bring a hard copy of this document so the site may make a photocopy of it.  You must present this every time you test. 

1. Your Pre-license Education Completion Certificate(s) for Iowa Real Estate (60 hours for Salesperson examination; 60 hours for 

Broker examination); or 

2. If you have been granted a waiver of pre-license education, a letter of authorization from the Commission for either the 

Salesperson or Broker; or 

3. If you plan to apply for license under 193E—5.3 (543B) or on the basis of experience from a previous license period, a letter of 

authorization from the Commission.  If you cannot provide a letter of authorization from the Commission at the examination 

center, you will not be allowed to take the examination. 

Salespersons must present one Certificate; Brokers must present nine certificates.  Failure to provide appropriate identification 

at the time of the examination without notifying PSI is considered a missed appointment and you will not be able to take the 

examination at this time.  

https://psi-cdexp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=360000150872
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SECURITY PROCEDURES 
 
The following examination protocols apply during any examination. PSI may pause or terminate an examination at any time. Failure 
to follow the examination protocol, may result in the disqualification of examination results, prohibition from taking future 
examinations, and may lead to legal action. 
 
If testing at a PSI test site you will be given a piece of scratch paper and a pencil.  You will return the scratch paper and pencil 
during check-out. 
 
Prohibited Items: 

• Reference materials of any kind. 

• Electronic devices of any type, including but not limited to; cellular phones, cameras, computers of any type (e.g., laptops, 
tablets, iPads), earbuds, electronic games, electronic watches, handheld calculators, headsets, mobile devices, music 
players (e.g., iPods), pagers, radios, recording devices (audio or video), smart watches, televisions, etc.). 

• Hats or headgear not worn for religious reasons or as religious apparel, including hats, baseball caps, or visors. 

• Bulky or loose clothing or coats including but not limited to; open sweaters, cardigans, shawls, scarves, vests, jackets and 
coats. 

o In the event you are asked to remove bulky or loose outerwear, appropriate attire, such as a shirt or blouse should 
be worn underneath. 

• Other personal items, including but not limited to; backpacks, briefcases, chewing gum, drinks, food, good luck items, 
notebooks, paper or other materials on which to write, pens, pencils or other writing devices, purses, reading material, 
smoking or chewing products, wallets, etc.  

 
Prohibited Behavior: 

• Giving or receiving assistance on an examination. 

• Copying or communicating examination content. 

• Using outside references or resources during an exam, examples: 
o Browsing other local resources. 
o Browsing the internet. 
o Attempting to use a computer or computer program not provided or approved by PSI. 
o Attempting to use a telephone or mobile device. 
o Using notepad on the computer. 
o Using an application on the computer not provided by PSI.  

• Engaging in disruptive behavior during check-in or during an exam, examples: 
o Acting in an inappropriate manner. 
o Using abusive language. 
o Speaking aloud. 
o Causing noise unrelated to keyboard typing. 

• Engaging in prohibited behavior during check-in or during an exam, examples: 
o Reading questions out loud. 
o Leaving the room without proctor approval. 
o Using instant messaging, or other electronic communication. 
o Capturing a picture or video of exam items. 
o Attempting to use telephone or mobile device. 
o Obstructing the proctor’s view (camera or in person). 
o Having inappropriate materials on desktop (explicit). 
o Changing spaces during the exam without proctor approval. 
o Not focusing eyes on the screen. 

 
During the check in process, all candidates will be asked if they possess any prohibited items. Candidates may also be asked to 
empty their pockets and turn them out for the proctor to ensure they are empty. The proctor may also ask candidates to lift up the 
ends of their sleeves and the bottoms of their pant legs to ensure that notes or recording devices are not being hidden there. 
 
Proctors will also carefully inspect eyeglass frames, tie tacks, or any other apparel that could be used to harbor a recording device. 
Proctors will ask to inspect any such items in candidates’ pockets. 
 
No prohibited items are allowed within the candidate's reach or line of sight.  If prohibited items are found during check-in, 
candidates shall put them in the provided secure storage or return these items to their vehicle for test center exams. PSI will not be 
responsible for the security of any personal belongings or prohibited items. 
 
▪ Any candidate seen giving or receiving assistance on an examination, found with prohibited items, or displaying prohibited 

behavior or violating any security regulations will have his or her examination terminated, and be asked to surrender all 
examination materials.  All such instances will be reported to the examination sponsor.   
 

Additional protocols for testing at a testing center, include but not limited to: 
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▪ Person(s) accompanying an examination candidate may not wait in the examination center, inside the building or on the 
building's property. This applies to guests of any nature, including drivers, children, friends, family, colleagues, or instructors. 

▪ Once candidates have been seated and the examination begins, they may leave the examination room only to use the restroom, 
and only after obtaining permission from the proctor.  Candidates will not receive extra time to complete the examination. 

 
Additional protocols for remote online proctored exams, include but not limited to: 

• Temporarily moving out of the camera's line of sight. 

• Candidates are not allowed to have scratch paper. 

• Adequate lighting for the proctor to see candidate’s activity. 

• Internet service must be sufficient to administer the exam, see page 12 for requirements. 

• Web camera must be placed for ideal viewing by the proctor. 

• Candidate may not change computers during the exam. 

• Candidate may not change spaces during the exam. 

• Candidate must follow proctor instructions, which may include, but are not limited to: 
o Keeping hands on the desktop. 
o Keeping eyes on the computer screen. 
o Not fidgeting during the exam. 
o Keeping hands away from face. 

• Please do your best to avoid covering your mouth for the whole duration of exam.  Be aware that 
talking/whispering/mouthing is not allowed during exam.    

• Breaks are NOT allowed during remote online proctored examinations.  If you believe you cannot complete your 
examination without a break, please do not register for remote online proctored examinations.  

 
 

TAKING THE EXAMINATION BY COMPUTER 
 
The examination will be administered via computer.  You will be using a mouse and computer keyboard. 

 
TUTORIAL 

 
Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial is provided on the computer screen.  The time you spend on this tutorial, 
up to 15 minutes, DOES NOT count as part of your examination time.  Sample questions are included following the tutorial so that 
you may practice answering questions and reviewing your answers. 

 
TEST QUESTION SCREEN 

 
One question appears on the screen at a time.  During the examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of the screen 
and updated as you record your answers.   
 
After you have entered your responses, you will later be able to return to any question(s) and change your response, provided the 
examination time has not run out. 
 

EXAMINATION REVIEW 

PSI, in cooperation with the Iowa Real Estate Commission, will be consistently evaluating the examination being administered to ensure 
that the examination accurately measure competency in the required knowledge areas.  Your comments regarding the questions and 
the examination are welcomed.  This is the only review of examination materials available to applicants.  
 
IMPORTANT:  You may review items and make comments during the time allotted for your exam.  No review is available once 
the exam has been completed (scored) or time has expired.  Comments submitted after the examination will not be reviewed. 

 

SCORE REPORTING  

 

In order to pass the examinations, you must achieve the minimum score on each part of the examination. 

Salesperson Passing Score 

Combined (National and State) ............................. 84 

State Portion ................................................... 28 

Broker 

Combined (National and State) ............................. 90 

State Portion ................................................... 30 
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Your score will be displayed on screen at the end of the examination and a score report will be emailed to you.  If you fail, the 
emailed score report will include the diagnostic report indicating your strengths and weaknesses by examination type.  
 

Examination results are confidential and will be reported only to you and the Iowa Real Estate Commission.  

If you pass the examination, you will receive a real estate license application form with your score report.  You are responsible for 

submitting your application to the Iowa Real Estate Commission no later than the last business day of the sixth month after the 

qualifying examination date. 

If you do not pass, you must retake the examination before you can be licensed.  Submit a new registration form and the 

appropriate fee to PSI and schedule an appointment to retake the examination. 

 

LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 

The license process cannot begin until you have passed the examination and received a passing score report. You will receive 

instructions on how to submit an application though the Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau's online licensing portal, "My Iowa PLB."  

Questions regarding the license application process should be directed to the Commission (telephone: (515) 725-9022,  

E-Mail: realestatecommission@iowa.gov). Do not contact PSI. In addition to the requirements that follow, each applicant must be 

able to establish his/her honesty, trustworthiness, competency, and good reputation beyond a doubt to the satisfaction of the 

Commission to be licensed as a Salesperson or Broker.    

Iowa Real Estate Commission 
200 E Grand, Ste 350 
Des Moines, IA 50309 

SALESPERSON CANDIDATES 

Filing deadlines are ABSOLUTE.  You MUST apply for your real estate salesperson’s license no later than the last business day of 

the sixth month following the qualifying examination test date. 

You may NOT file an original application as “inactive.”  You will need a sponsoring broker to sign the Broker Certification section of 

your application for license, verifying that you are associated either with or engaged by that broker.  You MUST have a broker sign 

to get your original license.  

You will need to submit a certificate of completion of the required 60-hour pre-license course with the application.  (Not applicable 

to persons applying under the Rule 193E—5.3 (543B) or by reciprocity.) 

If you have any questions concerning the acceptability of your hours, please contact the Real Estate Commission prior to filing your 

application for the examination — your class work must be completed prior to taking the examination. 

You will need to attach to your license application the following items: 

1. A license fee of $125. 

2. A pass notice from the examination service. 

3. Proof of completion of the 60-hour pre-license course prior to taking the examination and obtaining a license.  This must be in 

the form of a completion certificate(s). 

4. Proof of E&O Insurance. 

5. An applicant applying for an original salesperson license must provide evidence of successful completion of the following 

courses: 12 hours of Developing Professionalism and Ethical Practices, 12 hours of Buying Practices and 12 hours of Listing 

Practices. This education is in addition to the 60-hour salesperson prelicense course. The applicant must complete all the 

required education during the 12 months prior to the date of application. 

In completing your application: 

1. You must complete the “Nonresident Consent” section of the application if you reside outside of Iowa. 

2. You must provide the notarized signature of your employing broker on your license application form. 

3. You must have your signature notarized on the license application form. 

BROKER CANDIDATES 

Filing deadlines are ABSOLUTE.  After you have passed the examination, you MUST apply for your real estate broker’s license no 

later than the last business day of the sixth month following the qualifying examination test date. 

You will need to attach to your license application the following items: 

1. A license fee of $170. 

https://linkprotect.cudasvc.com/url?a=https%3a%2f%2fiowaplb.force.com%2fIPLB_login&c=E,1,XG0CGffWVm9z74w2sVY4IsJI6f3UtilZt_z2q4jUlw-xV1obl-5jsyP5RKy8ZGAXPX1DPWXQ-xwk5HZCNdFuvpUKROI-4GgG4Jv4Rf379kplCKCFizAZkg,,&typo=1
mailto:realestatecommission@iowa.gov
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2. A pass notice from the examination service. 

3. Proof of completing 60 hours of education within 24 months prior to taking the examination. 

4. Your Iowa salesperson license, or an explanation, if your license has been held inactive or if you do not have an Iowa 

salesperson license.  

5. Proof of E&O Insurance. 

In completing your application: 

1. You must complete the “Nonresident Consent” section of the application if you reside outside of Iowa. 

2. You must have your signature notarized on the license application form. 

3. If your application is for a proprietor, partner or officer and you intend to accept earnest monies you must submit a “Consent to 

Examine and Audit Trust Account” form.  If not, you must submit a “Trust Account Status Affidavit.”  These forms can be 

obtained from the Real Estate Commission or at https://plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers.  

 

 

https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/plb.iowa.gov/board/real-estate-sales-brokers__;!!ARYYNK37dQ!AU9ptGsI79mzmoofWx0y9fRESGFfw3wXCIcTToP0oo8E53pfYveoAp7n9WVseUk$
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PSI Services LLC 
3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 


