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Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) 
LICENSE RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS 

 
 

The ARNP license renewal application can be started online, including payment of fees.  
Renewal is available no sooner than 60 days prior to expiration. 

The fee is $81.00 for each ARNP specialty area.  If applicable, you will complete a 
separate application for each specialty. 

Step 1: First, make sure the underlying RN license is renewed. 

 For Iowa residents or residents of noncompact states that means completing the 
renewal of the Iowa RN license, before proceeding to the ARNP.  

 Residents of compact states must first renew their RN license in their primary 
state of residence. 

Step 2: Next, go to “IBON Online Services” and select the option to “Renew an Existing 
License.”  (If this is your first visit to the site you will be required to create an account.) 
Follow through to the end of the process, making sure to click “Complete the 
Application” after payment has been made, and then click “Continue” one more time to 
access final instructions. 
 
Step 3: Submit the required documentation: 
 A copy of your current certification card from the applicable national certifying body. 
 Residents of compact states must submit documentation that the RN license in the 

state of residence has been renewed. 
Any one of the following is deemed acceptable: 
 A copy of an active RN license in the compact state that includes an 

expiration date and the multistate status of the compact license 
 Copy of an online verification from the website of the other compact state 
 Copy of the verification printed from www.nursys.com, “QuickConfirm” 
 Some states only issue an ARNP registration or a dual license.  If your 

primary state of residence issues this type of card, either would be 
acceptable. 

 
The renewal cannot be completed by office staff until all the required documentation has 
been received. This can be submitted by any of the following methods:  

 Ground mail to the Iowa Board of Nursing, 400 SW 8th St., Suite B, Des Moines, 
IA 50309-4685 

 Fax to the attention of “ARNP renewals” at 515.281.4825 

 Scan and send as an email attachment to arnpren@iowa.gov 
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Continuing Education Requirement 

The continuing education required by the national certifying body is deemed to meet the 
continuing education requirement mandated by Iowa law for license 
renewal.  Documentation of current certification in itself verifies compliance. 

The ARNP certification also meets the continuing education requirement for renewal of 
an RN license. If selected for a random audit of continuing education when renewing 
your RN license, you may submit an additional copy of the current national certification 
card as evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirement. 
 
Additionally, ARNPs who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat children or adults in 
Iowa are required to complete training related to the identification and reporting of 
child/dependent adult abuse.  Any ARNP performing direct hands-on care of any kind is 
deemed to be a mandatory reporter, and must complete two hours of training every five 
years, and must submit documentation if the RN license is selected for audit.  See the 
Mandatory Reporter Training requirements at nursing.iowa.gov. 
 
Upon renewal of licensure, ARNPs who perform fluoroscopy procedures need proof of 
continuing education.  More information can be found at nursing.iowa.gov. 
 
Nurse Practice Act 
Registered nurses are accountable for the practice of nursing in accordance with 
current Iowa laws and administrative rules.  A nurse practicing under the nurse 
licensure compact must comply with the state practice laws of the state in which the 
patient is located at the time care is rendered. 
 
The National Transportation Safety Board reminds you to routinely discuss with 
patients the effect a person’s diagnosed medical conditions or prescription 
medications may have on his or her ability to safely operate a vehicle in any mode 
of transportation. 
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