
How to Become a State of Iowa Certified Residential Appraiser  
 
 
 

      Step 1.  Hold an associates degree or higher in any field of study; or, in lieu of the 
required degree, twenty-one (21) semester credit hours covering all of the following subject 
matter courses: English Composition; Principles of Economics (Micro or Macro); Finance; 
Algebra, Geometry or higher mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; and Business or 
Real Estate Law. 

 
      Step 2.  Complete 200 Hours of Qualifying Education in the specified required Core 

Curriculum, as noted below.  Courses are not required to have the same title as referenced 
below and individuals are not required to obtain 30 hours of “basic appraisal principles” in 
one course, however must document that 30 hours of education in that specific required 
core curriculum was adequately covered in their education package.  All qualifying 
education must be AQB approved and meet the 2008 AQB criteria subject matter. 

 
CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL 

BASIC APPRAISAL PRINCIPLES…………………………………………………..30 HOURS 
BASIC APPRAISAL PROCEDURES………………………………………………..30 HOURS 
THE 15-HOUR NATIONAL USPAP COURSE OR ITS EQUIVELENT…………..15 HOURS 
RESIDENTIAL MARKET ANALYSIS AND HIGHEST AND BEST USE………..15 HOURS 
RESIDENTIAL APPRAISER SITE VALUATION AND COST APPROACH…….15 HOURS 
RESIDENTIAL SALES COMPARISON AND INCOME APPROACHES………...30 HOURS 
RESIDENTIAL REPORT WRITING AND CASE STUDIES……………………….15 HOURS 
STATISTICS, MODELING AND FINANCE………………………………………….15 HOURS 
ADVANCED RESIDENTIAL APPLICATIONS AND CASE STUDIES…………...15 HOURS 
APPRAISAL SUBJECT MATTER ELECTIVES………………………………….…20 HOURS 

(May include hours over minimum shown above in other modules) 

 
CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL…………………………………………200 HOURS 

 
 

NOTE:  Qualifying Education must be in conformance with 2008 AQB Criteria. 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 The AQB CAP approval refers to the Appraiser Qualifications Board Course Approval Program.  This 
is a program which course providers can have their material reviewed for compliance with the 2008 
Criteria. 
2 All information within this handout is believed to be accurate.  However, should variations be found 
from this handout to state or federal requirements, the state or federal requirements will be followed. 
 



Step 3. Gain 2,500 hours of work experience in no less than 24 months by completing 
real property appraisals in conformance with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice (USPAP).  

       Acceptable appraisal experience includes but is not limited to:  

 Fee and staff appraisal; 
 Ad valorem tax appraisal; 
 Review appraisal; 
 Appraisal analysis; 
 Real estate counseling; 
 Highest and best use analysis; 
 Feasibility analysis/study and teaching of appraisal courses. 

All appraisal experience must be maintained by the associate appraiser, and a documented 
log shall at a minimum contain the following information: 

 Type of property 
 Date of report 
 Address of appraised property 
 Description of work performed by the associate appraiser 
 Number of hours per assignment 
 Scope of review and supervision of supervising appraiser 
 Signature and state certification number of supervising appraiser(s), 

and date 

NOTE: Iowa requires all trainees and supervisors to register with the state board.  The 
following link provides the registration form. It must be completed by the supervisor.  

All applications can be found online at www.state.ia.us/iapp.  

Supervisors must have at least two years of certified experience and be in good 
standing. Supervisors are limited to no more than three trainees, however trainees may 
have more than one supervisor.  

Step 4.   Apply to sit for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser exam.   
 
Step 5. Successfully complete the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser exam. 
 

NOTE: The State Certified Exam has a “shelf-life” of 24 months.  Individuals presenting 
applications with exams more than 24 months old are required to re-take the exam.  

 
Step 6. Complete the Work Product Review (WPR) process.  

 Submit work log with log form. 
 After properties are selected by the Board, submit application, fee, and appraisals. 

 
Step 7. Submit Certified Appraiser application.   

 
 
This is a guide and does not contain all of the Administrative Rules.  For complete 
rules, please read Administrative Rules 193F found at www.state.ia.us/iapp.  


