
LICENSE REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 
 

IOWA LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURAL  
EXAMINING BOARD 

200 E Grand, Suite, 350, Des Moines, IA  50309 
Telephone 515/725-9021 
www.state.ia.us/lsarch  

  
 

Name:  
 
Home Address: 

 
 
 
 

  Preferred mailing 

 

Business Name:   
 
Address:   
 
 
 
 
  Preferred mailing 

 
Reinstating as:       Active  or      Inactive 

 
Phone:                                                     

License Number:  E-mail: 

  

 
Since your last registration/renewal have you: 
 
 Yes      No    Been convicted of a felony. 
 
 Yes      No    Been declared by the court of competent jurisdiction to have committed a fraud? 
 
 Yes      No    Been subject to disciplinary action by any state board or similar licensing body, a      

government agency before which you practiced, or any professional organization of 
which you were a member? 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If you answered “Yes” to any of these questions please attach a complete explanation. 
 

 

CERTIFICATION 
 

I attest to the following:  This application is true and correct. I understand for reinstatement of 
my lapsed license to return to an active status, I must provide proof of attendance, 
verification of hours claimed, and information about the course content for all continuing 
education hours claimed on this form.  
                                                                                                          

X______________________________________________/_____/____ 
                                                         Signature                                                                     Date 

http://www.state.ia.us/lsarch


 

 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REPORT PERIOD:    Must be within the previous two years. 
ATTACH PHOTOCOPIES OF evidence of attendance in accordance with 193D—2.9 & 3.3 

PUBLIC PROTECTION (HEALTH, 
SAFETY, WELFARE) SUBJECTS 

PROGRAM TITLE (description) 
DATE SPONSOR CONTACT HRS 

    

    

    

    

    

    

  
       

 

   
 

   
 

   
 

   
 

   
 

   
 

   
 

   
 

 PUBLIC PROTECTION TOTAL   
(24 hours + 12 hours for each year or portion of a year of expiration) 

 

*If you need additional space, please copy this page 
 



 
 
Privacy Act Notice:  Disclosure of your Social Security Number on this license application is 
required by 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13) and Iowa Code § 252J.8(1).  The number will be used in 
connection with the collection of child support obligations and as an internal means to 
accurately identify licensees, and may be shared with taxing authorities as allowed by law 
including Iowa Code § 421.18 
 
 
METHOD OF PAYMENT 
 
(Active = $350 + $25 for each month or portion of a month of expiration) 
(Inactive = $100 + $25 for each month or portion of a month of expiration) 

 
 CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ENCLOSED FOR  $ ____________   

 CREDIT CARD PAYMENT $ ____________ Charge to:   VISA    MASTER CARD     DISCOVER  

                                                                                                                                          (ONLY CARDS ACCEPTED) 

   

CARD NUMBER  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____  ____   

       EXP. DATE (_____/_____) 

X ____________________________________________         X  __________________________________________ 

NAME ON CARD (PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT)                                   SIGNATURE 

DAY TIME PHONE  (_________)  ______________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 

193D—2.9(544B,17A)  Reinstatement. 
2.9(1) Reinstatement to active status from lapsed status. 

a.   An individual may reinstate an expired certificate of registration to active status within two years of 
expiration by: 

(1)  Paying the reinstatement fee of $25 per month of expired registration; 
(2)  Paying the current renewal fee; 
(3)  Providing a written statement outlining the professional activities of the applicant during the period of 

nonregistration defined as the practice of landscape architecture in Iowa Code section 544B.1; and 
(4)  Submitting documented evidence of completion of 12 contact hours of continuing education in health, 

safety, welfare subjects for each year or portion of a year of expired registration in compliance with requirements 
in 193D—Chapter 3.  The hours reported shall be in addition to the 24 hours in health, safety, welfare subjects 
which should have been reported on the June 30 renewal date on which the registrant failed to renew.  The 
continuing education hours used for reinstatement to active status may not be used again at the next renewal. 

Out–of–state residents may submit a statement from their resident state’s licensing board as documented 
evidence of compliance with their resident state’s mandatory continuing education requirements during the period 
of nonregistration.  The statement shall bear the seal of the licensing board.  Out–of–state residents whose resident 
state has no mandatory continuing education shall comply with the documented evidence requirements outlined in 
this subrule. 

The board shall review reinstatement applications on a case–by–case basis and may, at its discretion, require 
that the applicant take the L.A.R.E. as a prerequisite to reinstatement to active status. 

 
2.9(2) Reinstatement to inactive status from lapsed status.  An individual may reinstate a lapsed 
certificate of registration to inactive status as follows: 

a.   Reinstatement fees.  The individual shall: 
(1)  Pay the reinstatement fee of $25 per month of expired registration up to a maximum of $100 if the 

application for reinstatement is filed on or before June 30, 2009. 
(2)  Pay the reinstatement fee of $25 per month of expired registration up to a maximum of $750 if the 

application for reinstatement is filed on or after July 1, 2009. 
b.   The individual shall pay the current renewal fee. 
c.   The individual shall provide a written statement in which the individual affirms that the individual has not 

engaged in any of the practices in Iowa that are listed in Iowa Code section 544B.18 during the period of lapsed 
registration. 

 
2.9(3) Reinstatement to active status from inactive status or retired status.  An individual may reinstate 
an inactive registration or retired registration to active registration as follows: 

a.   The individual shall pay the current active registration fee.  If the individual is reinstating to active status at 
a date that is less than 12 months from the next biennial renewal date, one–half of the current active registration 
fee shall be paid. 

b.   The individual shall submit documented evidence of completion of 24 contact hours (16 contact hours in 
public protection subjects) of continuing education in compliance with requirements in 193D—Chapter 3.  The 
continuing education hours used for reinstatement to active status may not be used again at the next renewal. 

c.   Continuing education for subsequent renewals. 
(1)  At the first biennial renewal date of July 1 that is less than 12 months from the date of the filing of the 

application to restore the certificate of registration to active status, the individual shall not be required to report 
continuing education. 

(2)  At the first biennial renewal date of July 1 that is more than 12 months, but less than 24 months, from the 
date of the filing of the application to restore the certificate of registration to active status, the individual shall 
report 12 hours of previously unreported continuing education. 

 
2.9(4) An individual shall not be allowed to reinstate to inactive status from retired status. 
 

http://nxtsearch.legis.state.ia.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=xhitlist$xhitlist_x=Advanced$xhitlist_vpc=first$xhitlist_xsl=URLquerylink.xsl$xhitlist_sel=title;path;content-type;home-title;item-bookmark$xhitlist_d=%7b2007codesupp%7d$xhitlist_q=%5bfield%20folio-destination-name:'sec_544B_1'%5d
http://www.legis.state.ia.us/ACO/IAChtml/193D.htm#chapter_193D_3
http://nxtsearch.legis.state.ia.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=xhitlist$xhitlist_x=Advanced$xhitlist_vpc=first$xhitlist_xsl=URLquerylink.xsl$xhitlist_sel=title;path;content-type;home-title;item-bookmark$xhitlist_d=%7b2007codesupp%7d$xhitlist_q=%5bfield%20folio-destination-name:'sec_544B_18'%5d
http://www.legis.state.ia.us/ACO/IAChtml/193D.htm#chapter_193D_3
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