Back to top

Dentists & Dental Hygienists

To renew on active status, dentists and dental hygienists must complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years or qualify for an exemption. Licensees are also required to complete a minimum of one hour each in the following areas:

  • Infection control
  • Iowa jurisprudence
  • Opioids*
  • Sedation**

*Only required for dentists who prescribe opioids within the current renewal period (Sept. 2022 - Aug. 2024).

**Only required for dentists who hold a moderate sedation or general anesthesia permit. This requirement does not apply to dental hygienists.

 
Requirement TypeOverview
CPR

Required for renewal – can claim up to three hours for completing course.

 

To be eligible, CPR certification courses must be from nationally-recognized sponsor, and include a "hands-on", clinical component. A CPR course may include an online component provided there is an in-person portion prior to the certification being issued.

Infection ControlMust complete a minimum of one hour every two years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Iowa JurisprudenceMust complete a minimum of one hour every two years in the area of Iowa jurisprudence.
Abuse Identification and Reporting Training

Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every three years thereafter. Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for five years. Credit can be claimed for completing courses.

 

Mandatory reporter training is available here.
Mandatory report training FAQs.

 

Note: The DHS core training is awarded two hours for each section, for four hours total. Recertification training is awarded one hour for each section, for two hours total.

OpioidsDentists who prescribe opioids to patients must complete a minimum of one hour of continuing education in the area of opioids.
Sedation

Six hours for dentists who hold a current moderate sedation or general anesthesia or permit. These hours may also be reported towards the hours required for renewal of the dental license.

 

Please note: This requirement does not apply to local anesthesia permit holders.

Back to top

Dental Assistants

To renew on active status, dental assistants must complete 20 hours of hours of continuing education every two years or qualify for an exemption. Registrants are also required to complete a minimum of one hour each in the following areas:

  • Infection control
  • Iowa jurisprudence
  • Dental radiography***

***Only required of dental assistants who hold a qualification in dental radiography.

Requirement TypeOverview
CPR

Required for renewal – can claim up to three hours for completing course.

 

To be eligible, CPR certification courses must be from nationally-recognized sponsor, and include a "hands-on", clinical component. A CPR course may include an online component provided there is an in-person portion prior to the certification being issued.

Infection ControlMust complete a minimum of one hour every two years in the area of infection control standards as required by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Iowa JurisprudenceMust complete a minimum of one hour every two years in the area of Iowa jurisprudence.
Dental RadiographyDental assistants who hold a radiography qualification (QDA, XDA) must complete a minimum of two hours every two years in the area of dental radiography.
Abuse Identification & Reporting Training

Effective July 1, 2019, licensees and registrants who practice in Iowa, must complete training through the Department of Human Services and renew the training every three years thereafter. Prior to July 1, 2019, the training was valid for five years. Credit can be claimed for completing courses.

 

Mandatory reporter training is available here.
Mandatory report training FAQs.

 

Note: The DHS core training is awarded two hours for each section, for four hours total. Recertification training is awarded one hour for each section, for two hours total.

Back to top

Course Providers

The following lists are not comprehensive.  Additional resources may exist that are not listed here.  This is intended to serve as a starting point for licensees and registrants who need assistance locating courses.  This page will be updated as additional resources are provided to the board.  

Back to top